ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » db2 connection with broker 7.0

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 db2 connection with broker 7.0 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
KrotaZ
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:01 am    Post subject: db2 connection with broker 7.0 Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 30 Mar 2011
Posts: 11

hi everybody

we are using broker 7.0 in one server and we have db2 9.7 in another server. We have a flow that use database connection to db2.

Unfortunately, the information center doesn't provided much information.

I believe the connection must be configured using the client of db2, some body knows if there is another way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:25 am    Post subject: Re: db2 connection with broker 7.0 Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

KrotaZ wrote:
Unfortunately, the information center doesn't provided much information.


Aside from this section which explicitly discusses the use of user databases within broker, and has additional links at the bottom with additional information.

KrotaZ wrote:
I believe the connection must be configured using the client of db2, some body knows if there is another way?


You need some means of establishing an connection; a client is a popular method. If you're looking for alternative means of connecting to DB2, you might have better results in a DB2 forum.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

Steps:

1. Prove you can successfully connect to DB2:

Code:
db2 connect to <db2instancename> user <username>


2. Prove Broker can successfully connect to DB2:

Code:
mqsicvp -n <db2instancename> -u <username> -p <pwd>

_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

lancelotlinc wrote:
Steps:

1. Prove you can successfully connect to DB2:

Code:
db2 connect to <db2instancename> user <username>


2. Prove Broker can successfully connect to DB2:

Code:
mqsicvp -n <db2instancename> -u <username> -p <pwd>




But Step 2 only works on Broker v7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

mqjeff wrote:


But Step 2 only works on Broker v7.


Which the OP says he is using.

Step 2 plus another option of the mqsicvp command is something that I've been wanting in Broker since the 2.0.2 days...

Step 3
Code:

mqsicvp <broker_name> -n <dsn_name>

This checks the validity of the ODBC Connection including the username/password. Gone are the days of deploying a flow that uses a new connection only to find that the details you were given were wrong.

{Start wishful thinking section}
Now If this could be extended to do the same for Adapter connections (eg SAP Configurable services) the coverage of a Configuration IVP could be greatly improved.
I am sure there are other improvements in this area that others would find equally useful.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » db2 connection with broker 7.0
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.