|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
WMB load balancing web services |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
hopsala |
Posted: Sun May 29, 2011 6:31 am Post subject: WMB load balancing web services |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
Yo
Got my shiny mqseries.net mug. I'm sipping green tea from it as I write..
I'm trying to design a full-on active-active solution for a broker mainly used for web-services. We have an F5 load balancer here, and I was wondering how I should go about configuring it.
The main issue is how to 'ping' services so the LB knows they're up and running, and knows hows to redirect traffic only to the active nodes. It's not enough to telnet the EG port (or biphttplistener, or the servlet proxy; although I should mention we will probably only use EG native listeners), since it is possible that a flow will crash but the EG and other flows in it are still running. For example
Broker1: EG1 running, MF1 running, MF2 running
Broker2: EG1 running, MF1 running, MF2 dead
This means that the load balancer has to redirect based not only on host:port pairs, but also according to URL, and I need to devise some method to reliably 'ping' URLs without interrupting the flow itself and without code changes. I'm also not super-keen on the 'build an I'm-alive flow that runs mqsilist and returns 0K' approach, which I find rather fugly.
The only solution I came up with so far was to try and HTTP GET the URL, and check that I get 200-OK. Hopefully it's the flow that returns the 200-OK and not the EG listener. Doubly hopefully this doesn't actually start the flow running. Triple hopefully I can GET a non-existing page and still get a 200-OK message. I haven't tested it yet.
Has anyone done this before? Any other ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Sun May 29, 2011 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Quote: |
Has anyone done this before? |
This is normally done with the HTTP HEAD request, which the broker supports for just this scenario...
Kind Regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
mgk wrote: |
Quote: |
Has anyone done this before? |
This is normally done with the HTTP HEAD request, which the broker supports for just this scenario...
Kind Regards, |
Thanks! That's exactly what I was looking for. I'll try to configure it and write an update here.
Btw, do you happen to know a document that talks about all the aspects of an active-active setup? The info-center chapter is rather sparse, and the redbook "Managing WMB resources in a production environment" is out of date.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
A few additional questions, if I may:
Will the HEAD request still reliably test my flows if I work with the Http Proxy Servlet? And what if I work with an Apache HTTP Server as a forwarder? What if I use a load balancer, say F5?
Cheers!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Hello.
I've not tried this with the Http Proxy Servlet, but it may work with the HTTP nodes depending on what the servlet container you are using does with the HEAD request... _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|