Author |
Message
|
mnautiya |
Posted: Tue May 03, 2011 9:22 pm Post subject: How to check MQ listner configuration in MQ Explorer |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 May 2011 Posts: 12
|
Hi All,
I am faced with an issue out here i am using IBM Webspehere MQ 7.01 , I have configured a Queue manager and created a server connection channel.
And 2 queues , my listner port 1414 is properly running but i am not able to start my channels maximum i receive is the message AMQ4008 telling that server start request has been submitted , whereas the overall status still remains inactive.
I am trying to push messages inside this Que through SOA11g and there the connection information have been properly configured.
Can anyone guide me on how to check for the exact configuration to check while working with MQ and how to start a channel and check if its working.
This is my first MQ experience thus any help will be greatly appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue May 03, 2011 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
@mnautiya
When you define a qmgr using mq explorer , it defines the listener for you behind the scenes ( a window will appear while defining the qmgr and would ask for you to select the option to define the listener on some unique port, presume you have selected this ! ).
You can check the mq error logs, to see and analyze the steps while creation of the qmgr. (for windows C:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ\Qmgrs\QMgrName\errors\) (for aix /var/mqm/qmgrs/QmgrName/errors/ )
To simply check the status of the qmgr on your system, use : 'dspmq'
If you want to check the status of listener, you can use mqsc command to do so. 'display lsstatus(*) all'
Once an application is holding the connection on your qmgr, using some channel, you can see channel's status using mqsc command : 'Display chs(nameofthechannel) all'
If at all you want to check how many connections are there on the mqgr, you can again use the mqsc command : 'display conn(*) all'
If you want to see whether your msgs are coming to the queue or not, you can check its status and monitor ip/opproc :
'display qs(nameofthequeue) type(handle) all' Or 'display qs(nameofthequeue)'
You need to analyse what is the meaning of those values in its parameters.
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mnautiya |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 1:13 am Post subject: tried ur methods |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 May 2011 Posts: 12
|
If for 'Display chs(nameofthechannel) all' I am receiving AMQ8420: Channel Status not found. and i do try once more to start the channel and still receive this same error what next to do |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 1:32 am Post subject: Re: tried ur methods |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mnautiya wrote: |
If for 'Display chs(nameofthechannel) all' I am receiving AMQ8420: Channel Status not found. and i do try once more to start the channel and still receive this same error what next to do |
You'll only be able to check the status of a SVRCONN when it runs, but if you can't get it running...a Catch 22 situation.
Use the amqsputc sample to test the channel independently of the application. It doesn't matter that the sample application is on the same physical server as the queue manager as what you are testing is that the channel is correctly defined etc. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 7:41 am Post subject: Re: tried ur methods |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
mnautiya wrote: |
If for 'Display chs(nameofthechannel) all' I am receiving AMQ8420: Channel Status not found. |
I hope you have entered the name of your 'server conn. channel' within the braces (channel which you have defined in your qmgr) !
'inactive' status of the channel is the normal status ! ( so many discussions you can find on this subject in this forum )
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SAFraser |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 22 Oct 2003 Posts: 742 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
By starting the server connection channel, what do you mean? Do you mean you are right clicking the channel in MQ Explorer and selecting 'start'? Or you type 'start chl(channel_name)' in a runmqsc session?
To reinforce the comment of exerk, you cannot 'start' a server connection channel. An instance of that channel will be instantiated in your queue manager when a client makes a connection to it.
This is why exerk suggests using a the sample code amqsputc to connect as an MQ client. A successful client connection will instantiate a server connection instance on your queue manager. Then you will see output from the 'dis chs(channel_name') command. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 12:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
SAFraser wrote: |
This is why exerk suggests using a the sample code amqsputc to connect as an MQ client. A successful client connection will instantiate a server connection instance on your queue manager. Then you will see output from the 'dis chs(channel_name') command. |
To be more specific, the amqsputc sample program needs to be started and running (MQCONNected) in order for the SVRCONN channel to enter RUNNING state. Then, the DIS CHS(*) command will display the channel status. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mnautiya |
Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:07 am Post subject: @ SAFraser |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 May 2011 Posts: 12
|
Hi ,
I am following you only and am trying to start the channel by right clicking the channel.
And still status is inactive, furthermore the command line execution is also proving a dead end for me as i have not worked much over MQ command line.
Whatever i intend to do is from the Explorer window of MQ Explorer v7.01 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Channels of Channel Type SVRCONN do not ever get started in the absence of an MQ Client Application that has used one to create a connection.
Ever.
Nothing you do in MQExplorer can cause a SVRCONN channel to start. You have to use ANOTHER application to Connect in client mode.
EVEN THEN, you may not see the SVRCONN itself shown as "STARTED", because each Client connection creates an INSTANCE of the SVRCONN.
You should take some time and review the basics of MQ again. Perhaps you should go find the MQ Primer and read that. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mnautiya |
Posted: Wed May 11, 2011 9:31 pm Post subject: @ mqjeff |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 May 2011 Posts: 12
|
Thanks a lot man if i had credit points to give away in this forum i would have done that.
Cause I was really running out of ideas over this, Surely my basics were not there, and it was just a trial and error sequence which i was following to complete the task in hand.
The only thing I am afraid right now is whether this solution helps me ,hope it does |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|