Author |
Message
|
kenward |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:15 am Post subject: Broker Schema in 'src' directory |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 41 Location: Detroit, MI
|
We're using Broker v7 and whenever we create a broker schema, it's always in the root of the project (per the docs).
We'd like to keep the directory structure for the project a bit cleaner.
If my broker schema is 'com.myorg.etc' and I'd like to have a 'src' directory where that schema lives, is that possible without 'src' being part of the schema name?
-Jeff |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Message Flow projects do not currently support keeping "source" separately from "binary" code, in part because there really isn't any "binary" code in general - other than what gets stored in the BAR file.
The reason you typically have a "src" folder in a Java project is because there's also a "bin" folder that contains the compiled .class files that go along with the .java source files. Likewise with C/C++ projects managed under the Eclipse CDT...
But again, there really isn't any such comparable "compiled" file that is kept outside of the BAR file.
And all of your Broker schemas should actually exist under the "Flows" folder as well as the "ESQL Folder" and "Maps" and etc that already show up under the hierarchy of the Message Flow Project. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kenward |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 41 Location: Detroit, MI
|
In Toolkit, there's a 'Flows' categorization and it looks organized, but on disk, there's no 'Flows' directory.
If they did that much, I'd be OK with it. Guess I just like stuff more organized than that.
-Jeff |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Again, the usual reasons for having a 'src' folder don't apply, and the Message Flow project doesn't support it.
It's also been that way since at least version 6.0, if not in the v5 Toolkit as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kenward |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 41 Location: Detroit, MI
|
My use of 'src' was illustrative and a bad example I guess.
I was just hoping for better organization on disk instead of lumping everything in the project (flows, maps, eqsl files, bar files) all in one directory (if everything's in the same schema). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
well, they do all have unique file extensions (.msgmap, etc.).
But there isn't any support for subfolders within the same schema and likely won't be unless you file a requirement. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khudania |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 43
|
mqjeff wrote: |
well, they do all have unique file extensions (.msgmap, etc.).
But there isn't any support for subfolders within the same schema and likely won't be unless you file a requirement. |
I guess you can have as many subfolders as you want.
For eg.
Create a schema called abc.
Later you wish to create another one which is within abc, you create one called abc.subfolder
And so on...
abc.subfolder.subfolder.... and the code can be accessed similar to java package. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
khudania wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
well, they do all have unique file extensions (.msgmap, etc.).
But there isn't any support for subfolders within the same schema and likely won't be unless you file a requirement. |
I guess you can have as many subfolders as you want.
For eg.
Create a schema called abc.
Later you wish to create another one which is within abc, you create one called abc.subfolder
And so on...
abc.subfolder.subfolder.... and the code can be accessed similar to java package. |
This is all very true. But it is not what kenward is asking about.
Kenward wants to nest folders without making them be broker schemas. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khudania |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 43
|
Quote: |
Kenward wants to nest folders without making them be broker schemas. |
Doing it without making schema's is certainly not possible and ilogical to my little mind.
kenward wrote: |
In Toolkit, there's a 'Flows' categorization and it looks organized, but on disk, there's no 'Flows' directory.
If they did that much, I'd be OK with it. Guess I just like stuff more organized than that.
-Jeff |
I would have achieved the above doing the following.
In the toolkit you can create a schema called flows and another schema called flows.adminflow. The .msgflow file would then be in \flows\adminflow directory.
Now, let us talk about the esql files, you create a package called esql and refer acordingly in each flow, ie. esql.AdminProcedure. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
khudania wrote: |
Quote: |
Kenward wants to nest folders without making them be broker schemas. |
Doing it without making schema's is certainly not possible and ilogical to my little mind. |
Well. Yes, we've covered that, but it made sense to kenward. However, not possible. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|