Author |
Message
|
samthakur74 |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:29 am Post subject: JMS communication between two WAS instances |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 5
|
Hello,
We have an application which has the UI part to be deployed on one WAS instance (local) and its JMs components deployed on another WAS instance (remote) on a different machine. We had a few questions about how do we set up Queue's etc
Option 1
1.We installed MQ Servers for messaging on both local remote machine. We a set up Queuemanager using MQ servers on remote.The queues themselves are created using the remote WAS server.
2. The local and remote WAS instances can connect to the MQ series Queuemanger.
However we have problem that we are not sure exactly how to get the messaging to work? We created 2 buses (foreign bus) on each of the MQ series. but are unable to get them to speak to each other..
Option 2
1. Created queues on remote WAS as before.
2.Created SIB's on both local and remote WAS.
3. Create a foreign bus using MQ server (say on remote machine)
4. Add bus members for both SIB's as their respective WAS app servers and this MQ server foreign bus
Could someone guide us?
Thanks
Sameer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You are making this way more complicated than it needs to be.
Define the right queues to MQ on both sides.
Define the MQ communications
Define the MQ Connection factories in WAS JNDI
You should now be ready to commence operations  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
samthakur74 |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 5
|
Hello,
Thanks for the reply. We have queues only on the remote WAS machine.
we want to have the local WAS send messages to these queue.
Not sure what is meant by creating queues on both sides
Also by MQ communications do you mean MQ links?
If we already have 2 WAS instances I feel it makes more sense to use its default messaging engine rather than invest in an MQ messaging server. Can we avoid MQ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
samthakur74 |
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 5
|
Hello,
When we try to create a foreign bus associated with the local SIB, and “Test Connection” it fails saying the other side of the bus is not configured. We tried a remote connection giving the SIB details on the other server.
How does one create a foreign bus which connects to a another SIB on a different cell? Do we need to install Weblogic Process Server?
We have been specifically told not to use MQ series
thanks
Sameer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Please let me see if I understand the setup you are asking about.
You wish to have a single WAS instance act as a Bridge between SIBus and MQ.
You wish the remainder of the WAS instances to participate in a common SIBus.
These are two separate configuration tasks. You appear to have solved the first one.
Please consult the WAS documentation on constructing a shared SIBus across multiple WAS instances. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
samthakur74 |
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 5
|
Hello mqjeff,
Thank you for the response. Clarifying my setup/problem at a high level
We have 2 WAS instances. One of them (local WAS) has UI components on it. The 2nd (remote) WAS has JMS components on it. On remote WAS we have queues to be configured. Messages are sent to these queues from local WAS.
We have been told to avoid adding new components (like MQ messaging server) to the existing installed environment. So using these 2 WAS instances how do we achieve message communication?
We can configure SIB’s on both WAS’s but cannot get them communicate with each other. We created a foreign bus on the local SIB, but cannot get it to connect to remote instance SIB. The link here suggests we need to use Weblogic process server
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21216929
Can you help us get a clearer context, are we on the right track?
Regards
Sameer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Have you ruled out using 2 different JMS Engines on the same SIBus?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
samthakur74 |
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 5
|
Just realized that we are making things way too complicated. Sorry.
We just need to configure Queues on remote SIB. Also define listeners on remote SIB.
On local SIB just configure a connection factory and destination
Will update once done
regards,
Sameer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|