Author |
Message
|
ram0328 |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:12 am Post subject: Reading messages from sender channel |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Feb 2011 Posts: 11
|
Hi All,
I have a query regarding MQ
is there a way that we can read the messages from a sender channel (from remote or transmission queue) by using a java program or a .net program?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:20 am Post subject: Re: Reading messages from sender channel |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ram0328 wrote: |
is there a way that we can read the messages from a sender channel (from remote or transmission queue) by using a java program or a .net program?? |
1) Yes, though from a remote queue you'd need to read the underlying queue
2) Why would you want to?
3) If the messages are there long enough for you to read there's something very wrong with your channel configuration
4) Be very aware of the damage and chaos you could cause trying this _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Are you asking about reading messages from a queue that is not a QLOCAL on the queue manager you are connected to?
You can't do that.
Are you asking about reading a message on a transmission queue? You can do that, but SHOULD NOT.
Are you asking about using a Sender channel to connect to a remote queue manager from an application? You can't do that.
Are you asking about using a Sender channel to receive a message from another queue manager? You can't do that. Sender channels don't let that happen. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Are you asking about reading a message on a transmission queue? You can do that, but SHOULD NOT. |
My advice assumed this.
As the other options (ably outlined by my most worthy associate) are impossible.
And this option is a really, really bad idea. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santnmq |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 11 Jan 2011 Posts: 125
|
if you are asking whether you can read messages from the remote queues. you can'nt do that as remote queue does'nt store messages. From transmisson queue, ya you can read the messages if there is any (if channel is down), but the message will also have the transmission header.
I don't think in normal circumstances you need to read messages from the transmit queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|