Author |
Message
|
chris boehnke |
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:56 am Post subject: soap nodes |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 369
|
Hi Guys,
We are using soap request node to call a webservice. As per IBM documentation " request timeout property on soap request node specifies the number of seconds that the client waits for a remote server to respond with a 'message received' acknowledgment".
we have set the timeout property on soap request node to 15secs.
For testing webservice is down scenario, we provided an incorrect url on soaprequest node instead of bringing down the service.
We see that we are receiving timeout message in 20 -30 secs.
Pls let me know your thoughts on why I am not able to recieve timeout in 15 sec.
Thanks
Chris |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
My guess is this has to do with tcp/ip.
15 seconds or whatever you set is the timeout in case of a successful connection.
By providing a different url you do not get a successful connection. As such tcp rules prevail and you never get to experience that timeout.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There are some APARS and some design features in this area.
Make sure you're running at 6.1.0.8 or at least 7.0.0.1 and try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
optimist |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 18 Nov 2010 Posts: 33
|
I assume you changed the location inside the imported WSDL to point to the new incorrect url.
Did you use the same host & port as the original url? Just curious... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chris boehnke |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 369
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
My guess is this has to do with tcp/ip.
15 seconds or whatever you set is the timeout in case of a successful connection.
By providing a different url you do not get a successful connection. As such tcp rules prevail and you never get to experience that timeout.
Have fun  |
But the documentation says " timeout on soap request node is the the no. of seconds client waits for the remote server to respond with message received acknowledgement"
When I give correct url or wrong url(not existing), if the acknowledgement(that message received) doesn't come, timeout should occur right?
I think this timeout is not for the no. of seconds client waits to receive a response from host.
Pls clarify. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chris boehnke |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 369
|
optimist wrote: |
I assume you changed the location inside the imported WSDL to point to the new incorrect url.
Did you use the same host & port as the original url? Just curious... |
I didn't change the location inside imported url. I changed the url on HTTP transport tab of soap request node. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Quote: |
When I give correct url or wrong url(not existing), if the acknowledgement(that message received) doesn't come, timeout should occur right?
I think this timeout is not for the no. of seconds client waits to receive a response from host. |
I would still distinguish the 2 cases
- connection successful service called => i.e. waiting for service response or timeout
- connection not yet established => waiting for connection dependency on various tcp/ip timeouts and resolution lag times.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chris boehnke |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 369
|
[quote="fjb_saper"]
Quote: |
[*]connection not yet established => waiting for connection dependency on various tcp/ip timeouts and resolution lag times.[/list]
Have fun  |
can you pls let me knoe how do we check the tcp/ip timeouts? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
tcp/ip timeouts are set at the OS level.
So you would need to talk to your OS support.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dwilches |
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 12 Jan 2011 Posts: 19
|
Can you change the timeout from 15 to, say, 5? if you start receiving the timeout at a different time that 20 secs then it's not just a TCPIP issue.
How do you measure those 20 seconds? it's just from the time the SOAPRequest is reached (what did you use?) or are you taking into account all the time your workflow takes (another service invocation for example)? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|