Author |
Message
|
RudeJude |
Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:19 am Post subject: Automated Activities and failure questions |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Virginia
|
I have 2 ways to implement a process model. The process is entirely automated UPES activities from beginning to end but the user has requested the ability to have a web based worklist to handle any automated activity errors. Here are my 2 options.
1.) Build all the automated activities to be only continue down the model if the _RC=0.
2.) Build each automated activity in a block with a manual activity in the block that only gets activited if the UPES fails. The block would allow me to loop until the automated activities returns a _RC=0.
Here are my questions...
-Will option 1 allow me to put the failed activity on a worklist or can only manual activities appear on a worklist?
-If I want to restart the failied activity Im assuming I can force restart and this will resend a UPES xml message?
-Any gotchas using option 2 scenario? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
amittalekar |
Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 03 Apr 2002 Posts: 166 Location: VA, USA
|
If I understand your requirement correctly what u want is , created workItem in the ready state, if in the automatic step some error occurs.
Use program activity and put exit condition(in the buildtime) for each activity. If everything is perfect then set that exit condition else set the exit condition to false.
If the exit condition is not met workItem will be created to the User's name which u have specified in the buildtime for that activity.
-- amit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
What Amit says is right on...
The way MQWF works with autoStart activities is that it will only autostart the first time, so if it fails the exit condition, a workitem will then have to be generated.
DO NOT put the activity in a block, because inside the block the activity would autostart every time.
Your second option of having an extra "Manual" activity in the block would work, but IMO needlessly complicates the model. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kriersd |
Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jul 2002 Posts: 209 Location: IA, USA
|
One other thing..
You may want to be sure that your automated step (IF UPES) is returning to WF. I have found that if the UPES application fails to return the XML message back to WF.. WF will assume that everything is peachy and not error out the activity and put the workitem on a worklist. The only way to force restart an activity in this state is to drill down in the process model using the Web Client and fore restart it from the monitor. Not a good situation when you have many to identify and restart.
Another option, although I don't know what peformance impact you'll see, is to set the automated activity step to run in "Attended" mode vs "Unattended" mode. This will generate the workitem and allow you to view the workitem.
good luck _________________ Dave Krier
IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2002 5:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Dave:
Are you saying that you have seen a situation where a "Synchronous" UPES has not returned a message and the Activity went "Finished".
This would most definitely be a bug (Perhaps I am misunderstanding what you are saying), and if reproducable it should probably be reported. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|