ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Question about InputExceptionList

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Question about InputExceptionList « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Shahid.Hussain
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 6:54 am    Post subject: Question about InputExceptionList Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 13

Hi,

In my flow i am handling exception using the following code.

declare iError REFERENCE TO InputExceptionList.*[1];

WHILE iError.Number IS NOT NULL do
SET Environment.Variables.BrokerData.LastError.Text = iError.Text;
MOVE iError LASTCHILD;
END WHILE;

when i am getting error message i am not getting the same message as broker is putting in windows event log. for example if i don't handle exception broker puts the following message for some error.

<Error>A Custom Wire Format writing error occurred involving an incorrect data conversion. Element ''Country_Citizenship'' is either too long, or is out of range for the physical data type of ''fixed-length string''. </Error>

and using the exception handling i m getting this message on the last element.

<Error>CWF Data Overflow Error</Error>


is there any way to get the same error message as broker put in windows event log using exception handllig.

thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi Shahid.Hussain,

Put a trace node before this exception handling and look at the InputExceptionList tree.

Compare the tree and go line by line of your while loop, you'll figure out why the same text is not getting captured.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rekarm01
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 4:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about InputExceptionList Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1415

Shahid.Hussain wrote:
is there any way to get the same error message as broker put in windows event log using exception handling.

The ExceptionList tree does not contain the full error message (with inserts).

The Java default-access method com.ibm.broker.plugin.MbService.getMessage() can return the full error message (with inserts), but it's not well-documented, and requires a Java Compute Node (or similar Java method) to access it.

There doesn't seem to be an equivalent function in ESQL (or the C Common API).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 4:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Question about InputExceptionList Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

To be clear to future readers, everything that is in the ExceptionList tree is the information that is used to build the error message, and the ExceptionList tree has complete information about the error at hand.

The only thing that is not in the ExceptionList is a flattened and localized "error message".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amitha
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 80
Location: Newyork

Quote:
The only thing that is not in the ExceptionList is a flattened and localized "error message".


Hi mqjeff,

This is very informative. I was under the impression that exception list will have all the information. Can you please educate me what is flattened and localized error message.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Amitha wrote:
I was under the impression that exception list will have all the information.


As my associates have said, it does.

Amitha wrote:
Can you please educate me what is flattened and localized error message.


This is:

Quote:
A Custom Wire Format writing error occurred involving an incorrect data conversion. Element ''Country_Citizenship'' is either too long, or is out of range for the physical data type of ''fixed-length string''.


A message where all the inserts have been put in their proper places, and any regional adjustments made.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Question about InputExceptionList
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.