ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » mqsichangeproperties issue

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 mqsichangeproperties issue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
JavaDev
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:59 am    Post subject: mqsichangeproperties issue Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

Trying to run Netbeans(v6.9.1) profiler on WMB V6.1 on Windows XP.

The Netbeans "Attach profiler.." wizard has the following :

Run the application using Java SE 5 (JRE or JDK).
When starting the application, provide the extra startup option to the java command:
-agentpath:"C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.9.1\profiler\lib\deployed\jdk15\windows\profilerinterface.dll=\"C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.9.1\profiler\lib\"",5140

To add this JVM parm to a Broker execution group I use the following command:
mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v-agentpath:"C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.9.1\profiler\lib\deployed\jdk15\windows\profilerinterface.dll=\"C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.9.1\profiler\lib\"",5140
This command completes sucessfully.

However running
mqsireportproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -r
shows that everthing after the last comma has been ignored.

Thy this for a quick test yourselves:
mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -vtest,1234
or
mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test,1234"

Does anyone have a workaround?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Don't use filenames with spaces in them use the progra~1 notation. This way your ', xxxx' doesn't have to be outside of quotes...

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

fjb_saper wrote:
Don't use filenames with spaces in them use the progra~1 notation. This way your ', xxxx' doesn't have to be outside of quotes...

Have fun




Or put it in quotes and change all the inner " to \".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavaDev
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 1:52 am    Post subject: mqsichangeproperties issue Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

Thanks for the replies.
I did already try with no doubles quotes(see the quick tests above) but still truncated after the first comma.

However I switched over to the 8.3 path notation as suggested to avoid double quotes - using
mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v-agentpath:C:\PROGRA~1\NETBEA~1.1\profiler\lib\deployed\jdk15\windows\profilerinterface.dll=C:\PROGRA~1\NETBEA~1.1\profiler\lib\,5140

and it still truncates after the comma!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavaDev
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

Hi,
After re-reading the infocentre docs(see extract below), it appears that the comma is reserved to seperate 2 or more name/value pairs.
This sounds like time to open a PMR.

******************* E X T R A C T ****************************
-n PropertyName
...

-v PropertyValue
(Required) The value that is assigned to the property that is specified by the -n parameter.
You can specify more than one property name together with a corresponding value,
by using commas as separators, if you use a valid value for the corresponding property;
for example, -n Name1,Name2 -v Value1,Value2.
**********************************************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Yes. The comma says "here is the next -v to go with the next -n".

This is why regardless of whether you are using short paths or long paths, you need to enclose your entire -v value in quotes.

But if you use long paths that already have quotes in them, you must turn those "inner" quotes into \". So, like "C:\\"Program Files\"directory1\".

Or you can just put the short paths that don't include quotes in like "C:\Progra~1\directory1\".

But you might also have to \ escape the \... "C:\\Progra~1\\directory1\\"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavaDev
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

Quote:
This is why regardless of whether you are using short paths or long paths, you need to enclose your entire -v value in quotes.

As mentioned in my original post the following simple test also truncates at the comma:

mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test,1234"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Try \,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

or try
Code:
mqsichangeproperties BROKER_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v 'test,1234'

note the use of single quotes..
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JavaDev
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

All of the following truncate after the first comma:

mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -vtest,1234
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test,1234"
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v'test,1234'
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v'test\,1234'
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -vtest\,1234
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test\,1234"
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test","1234"
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"'test,1234'"
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test','1234"
mqsichangeproperties WBRK_V61 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v"test","1234"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

What does the infocenter say about the use of "-n jvmSystemProperty" ?
It looks here that we have a single -n with multiple -v values. I don't think you are applying this properly.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mgk
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 1642

Hello, I think you missed one combination

For me, this command:

Code:
mqsichangeproperties BROKER1 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v \"test,1234\"


Gives this output:

Code:
...
jvmSystemProperty='test,1234'
...



Kind regards,
_________________
MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

fjb_saper wrote:
What does the infocenter say about the use of "-n jvmSystemProperty" ?
It looks here that we have a single -n with multiple -v values. I don't think you are applying this properly.




I believe we have a single -v value that needs to contain a comma.

And this may simply not be possible.

It's worth a double-review of the documentation as to what it says on the question. And you could open a PMR and provide a utility trace of the mqsichangeproperties command as supporting data.

Since this is a JVM level system property, you can also use the /common/profiles directory to add a script to set this when mqsiprofile is executed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Or try what mgk said...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JavaDev
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 30 Sep 2010
Posts: 8

Thanks everyone for your perseverance on this one and thanks to MGK for the final solution :

mqsichangeproperties BROKER1 -e default -o ComIbmJVMManager -n jvmSystemProperty -v \"test,1234\"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » mqsichangeproperties issue
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.