ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Validating Database in ESQL

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Validating Database in ESQL « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
rohank84
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:46 pm    Post subject: Validating Database in ESQL Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 109

Hi Guys,

I am working on a code where i have to validate the database.
The validating is needed to check if database is up or not.

Is there are way to achieve this. This can be done by firing a query on a table and checking if it give any results but i am looking for a better way to get this.

I am using WMB 6.1.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:13 am    Post subject: Re: Validating Database in ESQL Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

rohank84 wrote:
I am working on a code where i have to validate the database.
The validating is needed to check if database is up or not.


Why on Earth would you need to do this in a broker flow? Infrastructure status should be separate from application logic. You'll be checking to see if the remote queue managers are running next.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:04 am    Post subject: Re: Validating Database in ESQL Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

Vitor wrote:

Why on Earth would you need to do this in a broker flow? Infrastructure status should be separate from application logic. You'll be checking to see if the remote queue managers are running next.


Did we get out of the bed on the wrong side this morning?

Seriously, a lot of people have problems with broker in that there is no shiny GUI that shows everythnig that is going on. They heve been 'gui-ified' by using Windows for too long. As Broker runs in the background often sight unseen, they need reassurances like this.
or
They are to mean to install a proper system monitoring tool that will do the job for them OOTB.

I know that the odd DBA has been known to take a DB down for no apparrent reason but the zillion event messages all saying the same thing will surely give you a clue of problems in DB connectivity.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:32 am    Post subject: Re: Validating Database in ESQL Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

smdavies99 wrote:
Vitor wrote:

Why on Earth would you need to do this in a broker flow? Infrastructure status should be separate from application logic. You'll be checking to see if the remote queue managers are running next.


Did we get out of the bed on the wrong side this morning?


Possibly.

smdavies99 wrote:
Seriously, a lot of people have problems with broker in that there is no shiny GUI that shows everythnig that is going on. They heve been 'gui-ified' by using Windows for too long. As Broker runs in the background often sight unseen, they need reassurances like this.
or
They are to mean to install a proper system monitoring tool that will do the job for them OOTB.


I take both of those points. Where I was offering an objection was:

a) trying to use WMB as a montoring tool
b) putting "safety code" in a WMB flow to ensure all the components were running before processing a business message

smdavies99 wrote:
I know that the odd DBA has been known to take a DB down for no apparrent reason but the zillion event messages all saying the same thing will surely give you a clue of problems in DB connectivity.


Exactly.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rohank84
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 109

Hey Guys,

Nice to hear your post.

Hey smdavies99 .. i did got up from the right side of the bed.

The reason for doing this is because there is a customized code which does a traffic management for message. Now because of the performance issue this needs to be done on broker and expectation is to achieve same in broker but its not compulsary.

Any other way of doing is always welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

There isn't a more clever way (or more accuracte way) in the GENERAL CASE than to run an SQL statement against the database and see the results.

A specific database vendor may provide additional methods or additional metrics, but those won't be part of the SQL standard and won't be available from ESQL.

Whatever mechanism the existing application is using can likely be run in Broker - in a JavaCompute node or etc. depending on how it's currently implemented.

Whether you should be writing your own traffic management applications is an entirely separate issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

rohank84 wrote:
Hey smdavies99 .. i did got up from the right side of the bed.


Feel he's talking about my bed not yours here....

rohank84 wrote:
Any other way of doing is always welcome.


Any of the WMQ / WMB built in features is a possibility
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

Vitor wrote:
rohank84 wrote:
Hey smdavies99 .. i did got up from the right side of the bed.


Feel he's talking about my bed not yours here....


It could be the same bed of course which explains how one of you got out the correct side but the other did not
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

WMBDEV1 wrote:
It could be the same bed of course which explains how one of you got out the correct side but the other did not



_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rohank84
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 109

It seems
Quote:
WMBDEV1
is talking about his own fantasies.
Well All the Best

Thanks MqJeff ... i guess it seems no other way ... I did the change the old way.

Thank Yous Guys for your time ....[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

rohank84 wrote:
It seems
Quote:
WMBDEV1
is talking about his own fantasies.
Well All the Best


Apologies but its all that gets me through the long, cold and wet days
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Validating Database in ESQL
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.