Author |
Message
|
mqjava |
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:53 pm Post subject: Problem with cluster queue |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 25 May 2009 Posts: 80 Location: New Jersey
|
Hi All,
I am having a problem while removing a queue out of cluster, here is what happened.
We had QMGR.A and a local queue QUEUE.A, this local queue was shared in a cluster. We wanted to replace QMGR.A with QMGR.B (QMGR.B is same as QMGR.A only name is different and created in different host), while the process of replacing the QMGR.A with QMGR.B, we removed the QMGR.A from cluster but forgot to remove the QUEUE.A from cluster in QMGR.A, then we added the QMGR.B to cluster and added the QUEUE.A to cluster.
Now when i go to QMGR.C which is in the same cluster, and do a dis qcluster(QUEUE.A) it shows QUEUE.A is available in both QMGR.A and QMGR.B , but when i do a dis clusqmgr(QMGR.A) no entries, since we removed QMGR.A out of cluster.
This is the problem: QMGR.A is moved out of the cluster, but the QUEUE.A of QMGR.A is not moved out cluster.
Applications will connect to QMGR.C and put message to QUEUE.A , now what will happen? message will go to only QUEUE.A in QMGR.B or it will try to go to QUEUE.A in QMGR.A also and it will get a error? and also now can i remove the QUEUE.A of QMGR.A out of cluster, we have already deleted the QMGR.A.
Thanks in Advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:53 pm Post subject: Re: Problem with cluster queue |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mqjava wrote: |
And also now can i remove the QUEUE.A of QMGR.A out of cluster, we have already deleted the QMGR.A.
Thanks in Advance. |
The cleanest way would be to ressucitate QMGR.A from a file backup and suspend from cluster (to avoid getting messages) then run refresh cluster on qmgr A.
Remove all cluster queues on A from the cluster
Remove QMGR A from cluster.
If this is not possible you can look into the reset cluster command (to be run on a FR).
Hope this helps  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjava |
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 25 May 2009 Posts: 80 Location: New Jersey
|
Thanks for the reply, i think RESET CLUSTER would be the best option if i specify RESET CLUSTER(clustername) QMNAME(qmname) ACTION(FORCEREMOVE) QUEUES(YES) it should remove the queues.
If i dont do the RESET CLUSTER, after 90 days automatically the queues will be gone?
One important question:
Applications will connect to QMGR.C and put message to QUEUE.A , now what will happen? message will go to only QUEUE.A in QMGR.B or it will try to go to QUEUE.A in QMGR.A also and it will get a error?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeevan |
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 12 Nov 2005 Posts: 1432
|
mqjava wrote: |
Thanks for the reply, i think RESET CLUSTER would be the best option if i specify RESET CLUSTER(clustername) QMNAME(qmname) ACTION(FORCEREMOVE) QUEUES(YES) it should remove the queues.
If i dont do the RESET CLUSTER, after 90 days automatically the queues will be gone?
One important question:
Applications will connect to QMGR.C and put message to QUEUE.A , now what will happen? message will go to only QUEUE.A in QMGR.B or it will try to go to QUEUE.A in QMGR.A also and it will get a error?
Thanks. |
is the cluster you are talking in production yet? even it is in prod, ask a short down time for the server app which processes message from the queue. From the client machine, send a few messages. now check whether the message go to both QUEUE.A or only QUEUE.A in MQGR.B. If message go to both, you have to remove the queue from the cluster as you said above. Or you can use alias queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
jeevan wrote: |
...ask a short down time for the server app which processes message from the queue. From the client machine, send a few messages...
...If message go to both, you have to remove the queue from the cluster as you said above. Or you can use alias queue... |
Please do tell me how the messages would get to QMGR.A, especially as the OP has stated that queue manager is no longer within the cluster?  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeevan |
Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 12 Nov 2005 Posts: 1432
|
exerk wrote: |
jeevan wrote: |
...ask a short down time for the server app which processes message from the queue. From the client machine, send a few messages...
...If message go to both, you have to remove the queue from the cluster as you said above. Or you can use alias queue... |
Please do tell me how the messages would get to QMGR.A, especially as the OP has stated that queue manager is no longer within the cluster?  |
I am not saying messages go to the QUEUEU.A on QMGR.A as the queue manager has been deleted. I am simply asking him to do a test and see what happens. If messages are not going in to the queue there is no need to worry. The objects will be deleted after 90 days automatically.
However, I am not sure what happens if the applicaiton try to put the message into the queue as application can still see the queue. Wehether the app gets an error message or messages will be landed to DLQ. In either case, the queue has to be removed using RESET cluster. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Please NOTE the statement as a Thumb rule that ' if you want to delete a qmgr object from mq cluster then first unshare it (e.g. queue) from that mq cluster and then delete it '.
Do refer the Cluster Manual for that.
Do the POC on your local to get out of any confusion.
Do not hit RESET/REFRESH Cluster without any Good reason(s).
GoodLuck !
Thanks
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeevan |
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 12 Nov 2005 Posts: 1432
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Please NOTE the statement as a Thumb rule that ' if you want to delete a qmgr object from mq cluster then first unshare it (e.g. queue) from that mq cluster and then delete it '.
Do refer the Cluster Manual for that.
Do the POC on your local to get out of any confusion.
Do not hit RESET/REFRESH Cluster without any Good reason(s).
GoodLuck !
Thanks
 |
He already has deleted the qmgr so I am wondering he can modify the queues to unshare ( take out the cluster). So, either he has to recreate the queue manager for properly kicking out these queues or he has to use RESET or if these queues are not causing any problem, leave them as is until they are removed from the system after 90 days. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
jeevan wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Please NOTE the statement as a Thumb rule that ' if you want to delete a qmgr object from mq cluster then first unshare it (e.g. queue) from that mq cluster and then delete it '.
Do refer the Cluster Manual for that.
Do the POC on your local to get out of any confusion.
Do not hit RESET/REFRESH Cluster without any Good reason(s).
GoodLuck !
Thanks
 |
He already has deleted the qmgr so I am wondering he can modify the queues to unshare ( take out the cluster). So, either he has to recreate the queue manager for properly kicking out these queues or he has to use RESET or if these queues are not causing any problem, leave them as is until they are removed from the system after 90 days. |
True, I know that. As I have stated clearly a 'Thumb Rule' i.e. in general what could/should be done.  _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
So, either he has to recreate the queue manager for properly kicking out these queues ... |
Not likely, since the Qmid is not QMGR.A, but QMGR.A.dateandtimestamp. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjava |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 25 May 2009 Posts: 80 Location: New Jersey
|
Hi All,
here is the update, i didnt change anything, when i do dis qc(*) it shows the queues in QMGR.A as well as QMGR.B, but when app puts message to QUEUE.A it only going to QMGR.B, as QMGR.A is already out of cluster and there are no channels to QMGR.A, so i am going to wait for 90 days to get the cluster queues cleared up automatically. Thanks to all for the reply. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
so i am going to wait for 90 days to get the cluster queues cleared up automatically. |
I believe it will be the 91st day.
Since this is not causing any problems for you or the qmgr, waiting until the object definition stales-out is a good plan. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Quote: |
so i am going to wait for 90 days to get the cluster queues cleared up automatically. |
I believe it will be the 91st day.
Since this is not causing any problems for you or the qmgr, waiting until the object definition stales-out is a good plan. |
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|