|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Need help regarding use of JMS transport |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
ssharad1984 |
Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:41 am Post subject: Need help regarding use of JMS transport |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2009 Posts: 2
|
Hi
We (Siebel Team) have requirement to integrate Siebel with WebSphere MQ. Websphere MQ Team has provided MQ manger name and Queue Name. We (Siebel Team) are using JMS transport in Siebel to retrieve message from WebSphere Queue.
I have following questions:
1) Does JMS transport need JNDI binding? Is JNDI binding is optional?
2) Which JAR or any other files are needed for JMS transport like (jms.jar, com.ibm.mqjms.jar, dhbcore.jar, com.ibm.mq.pcf-6.0.3.jar…etc)?
3) Do we need to configure jndi.properties and mqcontext.jar files? How to configure these ? Can we configure these file using MQ Client ?
4) Shall I ask WebSphere MQ Team to bind Queue Manager and Queue name to bind with JNDI service?
Thanks
Sharad |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:00 am Post subject: Re: Need help regarding use of JMS transport |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ssharad1984 wrote: |
Hi
We (Siebel Team) have requirement to integrate Siebel with WebSphere MQ. Websphere MQ Team has provided MQ manger name and Queue Name. We (Siebel Team) are using JMS transport in Siebel to retrieve message from WebSphere Queue.
I have following questions:
1) Does JMS transport need JNDI binding? Is JNDI binding is optional? |
The answer is really it depends. But if you want to keep your code provider neutral you better retrieve your objects from a naming context, hence the JNDI bindings...
ssharad1984 wrote: |
2) Which JAR or any other files are needed for JMS transport like (jms.jar, com.ibm.mqjms.jar, dhbcore.jar, com.ibm.mq.pcf-6.0.3.jar…etc)? |
You will need all the jar files on the <mqinstall>java/lib path...
ssharad1984 wrote: |
3) Do we need to configure jndi.properties and mqcontext.jar files? How to configure these ? Can we configure these file using MQ Client ? |
Don't know have never tried it. Preferably use the provided file context as initial context. It has a few restrictions but works very nicely. It really should be done on the MQServer machine as that is where your ultimate destination is and that is where the MQAdmin has access to. He can then email you the resulting .bindings file...
ssharad1984 wrote: |
4) Shall I ask WebSphere MQ Team to bind Queue Manager and Queue name to bind with JNDI service?
Thanks
Sharad |
That would be my preferred solution. You will then need to include this into your J2EE environment if you have one. MQ and WAS has it's JNDI defined directly through the WAS admin console and does not need a .bindings file...
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
antoniojss |
Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:52 pm Post subject: Integrating Siebel to a remote MQ Series server |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Jan 2010 Posts: 1
|
Do you have directions on what is the best approach to integrate Siebel to MQ Series Farm on a remote machine? From the Siebel documentation I read that Siebel and MQ Series must be installed on same machine. Our first thought was to use JMS but we don't know how to do it and if it will work. Please give us directions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:45 pm Post subject: Re: Integrating Siebel to a remote MQ Series server |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
antoniojss wrote: |
Do you have directions on what is the best approach to integrate Siebel to MQ Series Farm on a remote machine? From the Siebel documentation I read that Siebel and MQ Series must be installed on same machine. Our first thought was to use JMS but we don't know how to do it and if it will work. Please give us directions. |
My guess here is that you need multiphase commit. Hence the request for the same machine... You could circumvent that with the Extended Transactional Client... (check with rep about licencing).
Using JMS should work just fine. Sun has a good tutorial...
Have fun setting up your prototype  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|