ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Websphere MQ - Plublish/Subscribe

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Websphere MQ - Plublish/Subscribe « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
rodtfo
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:40 am    Post subject: Websphere MQ - Plublish/Subscribe Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2

Hello,

We are attempting to receive messages from WBI environment into a standalone WebSphere MQ environment. Once the messages are received from the WBI environment on a queue, we would like to distribute the messages via the publish/subscribe model. The receiving WMQ environment has one queue manager with a broker started. My question is how do you put messages inside a publish subscribe model? The publisher is WMQ queues and the subscribers are also WMQ queues. If I have messages in a queue how do I get them going in the pub/sub model?

I am reading the Publish/Subscribe book and it is not clear on whether you must write a script or program to publish messages/ and subscribe to such messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:47 am    Post subject: Re: Websphere MQ - Plublish/Subscribe Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

rodtfo wrote:
I am reading the Publish/Subscribe book and it is not clear on whether you must write a script or program to publish messages/ and subscribe to such messages.


If you don't have something (script or program) publishing messages, where does the data come from? The queue manager won't generate it spontaniously!

Much the same is true of subscriptions; the queue manager has no interest in the data, it's going to be an external process of some kind consuming the data.

This is so blindingly obvious (even by my standards) I suspect I've misunderstood the question. You might need to rephase it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manicminer
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 177

Perhaps you are using MQ7 and want to use the new pub/sub capabilities? (again just guessing like Vitor)

If you were doing that then it might be you want to use an alias queue which is an alias to a topic, then any messages put on that "queue" would be published. (assuming I remember my V7 stuff correctly, I've not looked at it for a while).

Either way, more info will help
_________________
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rodtfo
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2

Hi Vitor,

Quote:
If you don't have something (script or program) publishing messages, where does the data come from? The queue manager won't generate it spontaniously!


Correct! The data (or messages) are coming from another environment and they reside on a standard queue. Our goal is to take the messages and rather than just randomly put them on application queues, we would like to publish various topics and have a model setup in which a process would select which topics it wants to receive messages (i.e. subscription).

I was just wondering if there were any administrative tools available that would allow you to do the publish/subscribe or do you have to write scripts/programs using the MQ commands, AMI, JMS, etc. to do this?

Manicminer, we are using WMQ 6.0..does 7.0 offer such a utility?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

If you have to examine the contents of the message to determine what topic to publish it on, you have to write a program to read the message and build the topic.

You can, for example, use Message Broker to do this, in which case you aren't writing a "program", but instead a "message flow", and most of the heavy lifting on reading and writing messages and parsing data is done for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dove-young
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 9

Your environment sees strange. It seems you have already had standard queues, say a local queue, and you are puting messages into them. Then you want the messages in your local queues to be distributed in pub/sub mode.

You need to think about new terms introduced in WMQ v7, such as topic, topic string and subscribe, etc.
In a typical pub/sub environment, you need define topic object and specify topic string to it, such as '/root/trunk/leaves'. Then you can write/configure your application to publish information on this topic sting. For example

Quote:
amqspub '/root/trunk/leaves' QM1


In the mean time, you can configure another application to subscribe information from there. For example

Quote:
amqssub '/root/trunk/leaves' QM1


Furthermore, if you don't want to modify your application to use publish api, you can define an alias queue which target is set to a topic, then you can just put messages to the alias queue and all these messages will be published. For example

Quote:
DEF TOPIC(DOVEA) TOPICSTR(/AAA/DOVEA)
DEF QALIAS(ADOVEA) TARGTYPE(TOPIC) TARGET(DOVEA)


./amqspub '/AAA/DOVEA' QM1
./amqsput ADOVEA QM1

./amqssub '/AAA/DOVEA' QM1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotMe
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 25 Nov 2009
Posts: 26

dove-young wrote:

Furthermore, if you don't want to modify your application to use publish api, you can define an alias queue which target is set to a topic, then you can just put messages to the alias queue and all these messages will be published. For example

Quote:
DEF TOPIC(DOVEA) TOPICSTR(/AAA/DOVEA)
DEF QALIAS(ADOVEA) TARGTYPE(TOPIC) TARGET(DOVEA)


./amqspub '/AAA/DOVEA' QM1
./amqsput ADOVEA QM1

./amqssub '/AAA/DOVEA' QM1


I am confused by this... After my configuration failed (see below link), I tried the above and it did not work and I guess the point of confusion is how do you run ./amqspub and ./amqsput back-to-back? I run the ./amqspub command and after I finish putting in my test data I then run ./amqsput? How does this work?

http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Websphere MQ - Plublish/Subscribe
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.