Author |
Message
|
bryashko |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:34 am Post subject: How to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Aug 2009 Posts: 2
|
Dear All,
We are trying to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client on HP UX. For this we use
MQCONN(QMName, /* queue manager */
&Hcon, /* connection handle */
&CompCode, /* completion code */
&CReason); /* reason code */
But how to point which host, port, channel we are going to connect to?
Does it make sense that on the box where client is running there is no MQ installed?
Thank you for your attention.
Regards,
Boris |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
The missing link is the Client Channel Definition Table (CCDT).
Without this, you will not connect to a remote queue manager.
See the IBM Manual about MQ clients. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bryashko |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Aug 2009 Posts: 2
|
Thank you for the quick reply!
Could you please give me an example of how to use "client channel definition table"?
Do we need MQ client installed to be able using this CCDT?
Thanks and Regards,
Boris |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9471 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Read the WMQ Clients manual for all the details.
As the WMQ Clients manual will tell you:
You need to have the WMQ Client installed on the client platform.
You need to set environment variables on the client platform. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Yes, I rather assumed you had the MQ client installed.
Surely no-one tries this sort of thing without reading the manual? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
zpat wrote: |
Surely no-one tries this sort of thing without reading the manual? |
Apparently.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashikanth_in |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 26 Feb 2009 Posts: 123
|
Yeah, first read the MQ Clients manual.
You can use MQCONNX API where you can specify host, port and channel name. This is alternative to using CCDT. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
shashikanth_in wrote: |
Yeah, first read the MQ Clients manual.
You can use MQCONNX API where you can specify host, port and channel name. This is alternative to using CCDT. |
Another alternative to MQCONNX and CCDT is to use the MQSERVER environment variable. See the MQ Clients manual.
export MQSERVER=ChannelName/TCP/hostname(portnumber) _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|