ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » How to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
bryashko
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:34 am    Post subject: How to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

Dear All,

We are trying to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client on HP UX. For this we use

MQCONN(QMName, /* queue manager */
&Hcon, /* connection handle */
&CompCode, /* completion code */
&CReason); /* reason code */

But how to point which host, port, channel we are going to connect to?

Does it make sense that on the box where client is running there is no MQ installed?

Thank you for your attention.

Regards,
Boris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

The missing link is the Client Channel Definition Table (CCDT).

Without this, you will not connect to a remote queue manager.

See the IBM Manual about MQ clients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryashko
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

Thank you for the quick reply!

Could you please give me an example of how to use "client channel definition table"?

Do we need MQ client installed to be able using this CCDT?

Thanks and Regards,
Boris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9471
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Read the WMQ Clients manual for all the details.

As the WMQ Clients manual will tell you:

You need to have the WMQ Client installed on the client platform.

You need to set environment variables on the client platform.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Yes, I rather assumed you had the MQ client installed.

Surely no-one tries this sort of thing without reading the manual?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

zpat wrote:
Surely no-one tries this sort of thing without reading the manual?


Apparently.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashikanth_in
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 123

Yeah, first read the MQ Clients manual.

You can use MQCONNX API where you can specify host, port and channel name. This is alternative to using CCDT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Melbourne, Australia

shashikanth_in wrote:
Yeah, first read the MQ Clients manual.

You can use MQCONNX API where you can specify host, port and channel name. This is alternative to using CCDT.


Another alternative to MQCONNX and CCDT is to use the MQSERVER environment variable. See the MQ Clients manual.

export MQSERVER=ChannelName/TCP/hostname(portnumber)
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » How to connect to remote MQ queue manager from C client
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.