Author |
Message
|
NiceGuy |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:12 am Post subject: How to get Message Broker to read special character delim's |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hello,
I have created a messageset for a message flow in our broker with the flowing characteristics:
Code: |
Group Terminator: µ<CR><LF>
Delimeter: * |
These character (µ) do NOT seem to be recognized or read properly.
To confirm this I changed the test message to have
Code: |
Group Terminator: <CR><LF>
Delimeter: * |
And changed the messageset accordingly, and everything gets parsed beautifully .. so I appears my logic is correct .. but getting the broker to recognize/read the special character (µ)
Anybody else have weird or special delimeters that they were able to parse in the broker?
Thanks
Last edited by NiceGuy on Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:51 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
broker_new |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 Posts: 614 Location: Washington DC
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NiceGuy |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hi again,
I've attempted to apply the following mnemonics:
Code: |
Group Terminator: <U+00B5><CR><LF>
Delimeter: *
|
But again this fails to work as well.
Anybody have any other ideas??
Surely the broker can parse the µ character, can't it?
Thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
NiceGuy wrote: |
Surely the broker can parse the µ character, can't it? |
only if the code page is set correctly. What one are you using? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NiceGuy |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hi,
Thanks for your immediate reply. I apologize in advance but I am no sure what my code page is set to, or where to find that.
On my MQInput node in my message flow, I have set:
Code: |
Convert Endcoding: 546
CCSID: 1208
|
Does that help clarify anything?
Thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
NiceGuy wrote: |
Does that help clarify anything? |
Only if the message doesn't have a header overriding these default values to message specific ones, which is not uncommon. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NiceGuy |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hi again,
Quote: |
Only if the message doesn't have a header overriding these default values to message specific ones, which is not uncommon. |
Yes that's true .. that is .. there is nothing in the input message that overrides these values.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
NiceGuy wrote: |
there is nothing in the input message that overrides these values. |
Seriously?
Then old advice is good advice; take a user trace and see what's actually happening. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Luke |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 10 Nov 2008 Posts: 128 Location: UK
|
I'm a bit confused by this ... maybe I've misunderstood ... ?
NiceGuy, are you saying that there's no CCSID or Encoding set in the MQMD of the message before it gets read from the queue?
If so, and you've selected convert on the MQInput node, then how would Broker know how to convert your data to CCSID 1208? If you want it to convert, then I think the message has to have valid settings for Format Encoding and CCSID, AND the special character you're using must be valid in the codepage you're converting from and to. Also, the actual data in the message must be correct for the CCSID specified in the MQMD.
I'd recommend you stop your flow, check the message on the queue for the above. If all these things are valid, then use a trace as Vitor suggests.
Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NiceGuy |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hi again,
My apologies, for clarity, my MQMD values for :
Code: |
Encoding: 546
CodedCharSetId: 1208 |
I must say I am extremely impressed with the response time on this forum
Thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
And you've confirmed that the hex value of the delimiter in the message itself is the proper equivalent of the <U+00B5> value you have set on the TDS message model?
And you've run a usertrace at debug level and confirmed that the TDS model is failing to match this correct character at the correct location, and not failing because some other part of the model doesn't succeed?
If the answer to both of this is "yes", then you should open a PMR. But do include the usertrace and the message set and the sample message you're trying to process. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|