ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Java / JMSHow to change CCSID on destination (queue) level

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
How to change CCSID on destination (queue) level View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gingerina
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:35 am Post subject: How to change CCSID on destination (queue) level Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Posts: 5

Hello,
I can not find anywhere in documentation nor in MQ Explorer a way to change the CCSID on destination level.
I use runmqsc to change the CCSID for the QMGR. But I can not display any information about the queues.
When I type DISPLAY QUEUE (*), I get a list with all available queues, but no syntax is helping to avoid the following :

AMQ8147: WebSphere MQ object DEFAULT not found.

display QUEUE(default) TYPE(QLOCAL)
display QUEUE(default)
display QLOCAL(default)
display QUEUE(qmr_name.default)

Could someone give me some hints what and where to look for.
Thank you in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5645
Location: UK

Queues do not have a CCSID.

Default queues are named SYSTEM.DEFAULT.xxxx you can see these on MQ explorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:44 am Post subject: Re: How to change CCSID on destination (queue) level Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25017
Location: Ohio, USA

gingerina wrote:
Could someone give me some hints what and where to look for.


What you've already found. The CCSID is a queue manager attribute. The queue's that it hosts don't have a CCSID per se, it's an attribute of the messages that they hold describing the CCSID of the data that they carry.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

And remember that a JMS Destination object is explicitly and intentionally NOT THE SAME THING as the object that it is pointing to.

So if you are trying to alter the CCSID of a JMSDestination object, that's not the same thing as trying to alter the CCSID of the thing the Destination points to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gingerina
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:55 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Posts: 5

Thank you for the quick replies.

Zpat, it it the same result for all queue names , which I tried. Are the commands case-sensitive ?

I also would like to ask the following: On QMGR I set CCSID 819. The message which I receive in the java client has charset UTF-8 (WMQTextMessage.class). JMS_IBM_Character_Set property also has the value "UTF-8". I would expect "ISO-8859-1". What is the reason ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:13 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25017
Location: Ohio, USA

gingerina wrote:
Are the commands case-sensitive ?


No but the names are & will be folded to upper case unless encased in quotes.

gingerina wrote:
I also would like to ask the following: On QMGR I set CCSID 819. The message which I receive in the java client has charset UTF-8 (WMQTextMessage.class). JMS_IBM_Character_Set property also has the value "UTF-8". I would expect "ISO-8859-1". What is the reason ?


The message was sent in UTF-8 & your client didn't request conversion? Or the message wasn't eligible for conversion?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:44 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19684
Location: LI,NY

Vitor wrote:

gingerina wrote:
I also would like to ask the following: On QMGR I set CCSID 819. The message which I receive in the java client has charset UTF-8 (WMQTextMessage.class). JMS_IBM_Character_Set property also has the value "UTF-8". I would expect "ISO-8859-1". What is the reason ?


The message was sent in UTF-8 & your client didn't request conversion? Or the message wasn't eligible for conversion?

Obviously it is a TextMessage (JMS/XMS?) and as such should be eligible for conversion.
However if done by java or may be .NET which are inherently Unicode enabled, there is no sense in downgrading before translating to Unicode.

You did not say what the CCSID of the connection factory you used is. Possibly UTF-8 ?.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qlayer
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:36 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 4

I have the same issue and I am asking how can CCSID be set as a message property and where?
The message that we are sending is Text Message with Format MQSTR.
I am wonderign why after the CCSID of the Queue Manager being set to 819, the message still has property JMS_IBM_Character_Set: UTF-8.
Where the value of this message property can be changed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5645
Location: UK

In the program. The queue manager CCSID does not overide an application setting. It is used only when the message MQMD.CCSID has a value of 0 (which means use the QMGR CCSID).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qlayer
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 4

Could you please tell me then how to set this MQMD.CCSID to the right value. It seems that it is the default one - 1208 (UTF-?
Or at least to set it to MQMD.CCSID = 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:27 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5645
Location: UK

I don't know JMS - it should be in the infocenter

Something like adding &ccsid=0 to the queue URI might do it.

In normal MQI, you would set the MQMD.CCSID value in the message descriptor before the MQPUT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:59 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1821
Location: Melbourne, Australia

zpat wrote:
In normal MQI, you would set the MQMD.CCSID value in the message descriptor before the MQPUT.


You can also set it before MQGET if you are requesting conversion.

In nearly all cases apps would not explicitly set CodedCharSetId in the MQMD, and just use its default initialized value MQCCSI_Q_MGR, which will use the qmgr's CCSID.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:20 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19684
Location: LI,NY

Are you sure about the CCSID of the queue manager.
Some defaults changed @ V7 and it is no longer necessarily the CCSID of the platform.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
qlayer
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:22 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 4

"In normal MQI, you would set the MQMD.CCSID value in the message descriptor before the MQPUT."

Zpat, could you please tell where exactly this message descriptor is? I mean step by step in which menu it is, where to set it and so on. I am sorry but I am not familiar with the WebSphere MQ Exsplorer at all.


Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5645
Location: UK

Nothing to do with explorer.

This is in the application program that generates message.

You seem to be desperately looking for a way to set this outside the application, when it needs to be set inside the application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Java / JMSHow to change CCSID on destination (queue) level
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.