ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » To check queue is created or not through ESQL

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 To check queue is created or not through ESQL « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
santy
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:24 am    Post subject: To check queue is created or not through ESQL Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 141

Hi,

I'm working on WMB 6.0 and 6.1.

Can you please tell me that is there any way that I can check through ESQL , whether queue is created or not before writing the message to output queue from MQOutput Node ?



Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

There is no way directly.


However you could:-

1)Add a try catch node before the MQoutput Node
2)Attempt to write to the Queue
3) Catch the error and after traversing the tree, check for Object-Not-Found
4) Carry on.

If no error occurs then the queue exists.

Buy I'm puzzled. Why would you want to do this? Are you using Dynamic Queues or there is some other reason for wanting to do this?
Remember, you can't check for or handle every possible infrastructure error in every flow. Sometimes, you have to assume that the infrastructure is there and working.
If is not then the whole system is in deep do-do already.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santy
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 141

Hi, I wanted to do this because we are doing some Database commit operations after sending the messages to output queue, and we don't want to rely on default message flow commit operations.

Now if the queue does not present, we do not want to commit that DB operations.

So I wanted to check whether through ESQL we can check/catch whether the queue is present or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

This sounds like a confused design.

Are you going to be coding queue names in ESQL - very bad idea!

The fact that this feature does not exist in WMB tells you that you do not need it.

If the queue name is in the MQoutput node property then simple procedural checks before deployment are enough.

After all you do test everything you deploy - don't you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

By default, if you get ANY WMQ error you will throw an exception.
If you have not added any TryCatch nodes to the path of the message through the flow before the MQOutput Node, it will roll back to the MQInput (or other node) at the start of the flow. If you don't have anything connected to the Error or Failure terminal what do you think happens to your DB Commits?
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

santy wrote:
Now if the queue does not present, we do not want to commit that DB operations.


It's not a really good idea to write code to deal with administative problems. You're better off writing some procedures and QA to ensure these objects are present.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

smdavies99 wrote:
If you have not added any TryCatch nodes to the path of the message through the flow before the MQOutput Node, it will roll back to the MQInput (or other node) at the start of the flow. If you don't have anything connected to the Error or Failure terminal what do you think happens to your DB Commits?


My thoughts exactly!

Be sure to read about the "transaction" mode property on the node that updates the DB and what the different settings mean to the transaction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » To check queue is created or not through ESQL
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.