ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportVerify if MQ Client or MQ Server is installed

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
Verify if MQ Client or MQ Server is installed View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Ramphart
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:00 am Post subject: Verify if MQ Client or MQ Server is installed Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 141
Location: South Africa, JHB

Hi,

Platform : Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition

Output of cmd : dspmqver
Code:
Name:        WebSphere MQ
Version:     6.0.2.1
CMVC level:  p600-201-070323
BuildType:   IKAP - (Production)

How can I verify that only the MQ Client or only the MQ Server or both are installed on a machine?

Regards
_________________
Senior Applications Architect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5934

look in the Registry for the installed components...

Quote:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IBM\MQSeries\CurrentVersion\Components


...your first
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RaviKrG
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 240

For the MQ server you can run the postcard sample applications also to test the mq installation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:15 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5934

RaviKrG wrote:
For the MQ server you can run the postcard sample applications also to test the mq installation


The poster wanted to know if they are installed...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:51 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1886
Location: Melbourne, Australia

A quick method is to look in MQ's "bin" directory. If crtmqm is there, Server is installed. If not, Client is installed (there will only be a few files in bin).
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gunter
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Germany, Frankfurt

For a developer it is sometimes better to look for a shared library. If mqm.dll is installed it's on a server.
_________________
Gunter Jeschawitz
IBM Certified System Administrator - Websphere MQ, 5.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1886
Location: Melbourne, Australia

gunter wrote:
For a developer it is sometimes better to look for a shared library. If mqm.dll is installed it's on a server.


Yeah, programmatically they can try to load the shared/dynamic library or get the attributes of the directorypath/filename, and test for success or failure.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madi
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:19 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 475

The easiest way is to Programs-->MQ and check if MQ explorer is present, if yes then its a server, if you can only see Remove latest CSD then its a client.
_________________
IBM Certified Solutions Developer - WMB 6.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:08 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25247
Location: Ohio, USA

madi wrote:
The easiest way is to Programs-->MQ and check if MQ explorer is present, if yes then its a server


Or they've downloaded the MQExplorer as a support pac.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7463

Vitor wrote:
madi wrote:
The easiest way is to Programs-->MQ and check if MQ explorer is present, if yes then its a server


Or they've downloaded the MQExplorer as a support pac.


Or they installed MQ Server and choose not to install the MQ Explorer option.

Whether MQ Explorer is installed or not has nothing to do with whether MQ Client and/or MQ Server is installed.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LouML
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 10 Nov 2005
Posts: 305
Location: Jersey City, NJ / Bethpage, NY

I think we'd all agree that it would be nice if someday IBM decided to return either "WebSphere MQ Server" or "WebSphere MQ Client" from dspmqver
_________________
Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man. - The Dude
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:27 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

The registry does tell you this as key ProductType.

I admit it would be nice to get this information without digging into the registry but it is there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:05 pm Post subject: Re: Verify if MQ Client or MQ Server is installed Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3072
Location: London, ON Canada

Ramphart wrote:
How can I verify that only the MQ Client or only the MQ Server or both are installed on a machine?Regards

On Windows, I have a tool called "MQWhat" that dumps important MQ registry information. Should I open source it?
Code:
C:\>mqwhat.exe
(c) Copyright Capitalware Inc. All rights reserved.
MQWhat v1.0.0 is starting
+-----------------------------------------+
| Currently Installed Version Information |
+-----------------------------------------+
ProductType     = Server
VRMF            = 6.0.2.5
MQServerVersion = 6
MQServerRelease = 0
GSKitPackaged   = GSK7
FilePath        = D:\Program Files\IBM\WebSphere MQ
+-----------------------------------------+
| Currently Installed Components          |
+-----------------------------------------+
Development Toolkit     = Installed
Explorer                = Installed
JavaMsg                 = Installed
Local Clients           = Installed
Server                  = Installed
+-----------------------------------------+
| Current Maintenance Applied             |
+-----------------------------------------+
Shipped = 0.0
Maint_2.4
Maint_2.5
+-----------------------------------------+
| Queue Managers                          |
+-----------------------------------------+
MQA1    EndedImmediately
MQWC1   Ended
MQWC2   Ended
MQWT1   Running
MQWT2   EndedImmediately
MQWT4   EndedImmediately


Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:21 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8157
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Perhaps more cool than your port scanner.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:24 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3072
Location: London, ON Canada

bruce2359 wrote:
Perhaps more cool than your port scanner.

Thanks.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportVerify if MQ Client or MQ Server is installed
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.