|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
(Unit)Testing Message Broker |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
fabyos |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:04 am Post subject: (Unit)Testing Message Broker |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 15 May 2009 Posts: 37
|
Hi,
I'm a new developer for WMB (using 6.1.0.3) and I wanna know if there is a way to create unit testing with it, or any type of automatic tests.
I'm currently using the mbtest files to do some tests, but it requires a lot of pre-configuration on each machine that it is used to develop. Let´s say, I changed my message set, and I cant detect the points where it affects directly or some kind of this.
How do you deal with this type of concerns in development process? There practices to do tests with WMB, or the only way is through toolkit and do it manually? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:12 am Post subject: Re: (Unit)Testing Message Broker |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
fabyos wrote: |
I wanna know if there is a way to create unit testing with it, or any type of automatic tests. |
We use JUnit.
fabyos wrote: |
I cant detect the points where it affects directly or some kind of this. |
Are you talking about impact analysis? Or have I misunderstood?
fabyos wrote: |
There practices to do tests with WMB, or the only way is through toolkit and do it manually? |
We do early testing (like does it actually work) with RFHUtil, unit / integration test with JUnit & the non-functional test team use something called Fitness about which I know nothing, except it generates so many messages it brings down their rather underpowered box on a regular schedule. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fabyos |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 15 May 2009 Posts: 37
|
Vitor thanks for response.
How do you use JUnit, I was looking for something related to development WMB with Junit, but didn find.
I´m considering testing message flows too, I dont know how to do it or if its possible.
Not necessarilly impact analysis. Currently, I´m just considering the test parts. I just wanna run a group of tests and see if it failed on some point of the flow/code. Because, to test I need a WMQ/WMB/Database just to test some logic points. Its too much for simple tests.. because with this I think that I am doing a Integration tests and not a unit test.
You do unit tests with an external application, or do you test internally? Its a project inside of WMB project?
Do you have some references? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
fabyos wrote: |
How do you use JUnit |
Personally - slowly and very, very carefully. It's outside my comfort zone, being contaminated with Java.
fabyos wrote: |
I´m considering testing message flows too, I dont know how to do it or if its possible. |
That's what we're doing - there's JUnit "stuff" which you "Run as JUnit" inside the WMB toolkit. There's a great grinding, a lot of things happening and the little bar goes red or green.
You'll notice my familiarity with both this tool and it's terms.
Looks like a lot of Java with example messages and responses built into it to me. I'm told it's far more complicated than that, and am disinclined to get further involved. I'm sure one of the less Java-phobic posters on the forum will be along in a minute.
fabyos wrote: |
Because, to test I need a WMQ/WMB/Database just to test some logic points. |
Not sure you'll be able to get round that. I'm unaware of a way of testing flows without running them in WMB.
fabyos wrote: |
Its too much for simple tests.. because with this I think that I am doing a Integration tests and not a unit test. |
We call it a unit test if we're not talking to a real end point, and an integration test if we are.
fabyos wrote: |
You do unit tests with an external application, or do you test internally? |
We call it a unit test if we're not talking to a real end point, and an integration test if we are. It's all tested internally, but for unit tests it's a dummy application / service / etc rather than a real one.
fabyos wrote: |
Its a project inside of WMB project? |
Technically or politically? It's all run inside Toolkit, or on the servers, and is under the control of the project doing the development.
fabyos wrote: |
Do you have some references? |
This was all developed in-house as an extension of the JUnit used to test some of the end point applications. I dread to think what they referred to; I consider Java something akin to black magic!!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
You could take a look at the IH03 Support Pack. Apart from RFHUTIL, there are other utilities that can send batches of messages (with all your test/errors built in) to the target flows.
OR
You can roll your own.
I use a version of amqsput (a freebie WMQ utility that has the 'C' source supplied) that has been modified to :-
- Read messages from files
- take messages up to 1Mb in size
These are all put into a set of scripts that all me to run sets of tests as required and repeat as often as I need to. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
SupportPac MA0T can be examined as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|