ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Deleting particular message from q

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Deleting particular message from q « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
kush911
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:31 am    Post subject: Deleting particular message from q Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

Hi,
I have a requriement that i hav to browse the MQ and reach to the message which i have to delete and then delete the message leaving al the other messages intact.

I opened the MQ in Browse as well as deletion mode
then i browsed the MQ to reach the problematic record and then whn the reocrd was found i used the Get message properties to delte the roeds but the actual record that was deleted was the record at the top of the MQ.

it seems it initializes the counter whn the GET message properties are changed.

please suggest...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

How did you access the queue? Most utilities only issue a BROWSE_FIRST so you always get the first message.

If you have an ongoing requirement for this you need to write some code to do BROWSE_FIRST / BROWSE_NEXT until it locates the correct message. For an intermittant requirement look into the MO71 support pack.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kush911
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

i did a BROWSE NEXT to reach to the appropriate message .. as the BROWSE does not delete the message from the QUerue .. then i did a destructive MQGET which instead of deleting this message deleted the first message from the queue..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pathipati
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 296

do you have the messageId?
If you've 10 messages and if you want to delete 5th message u can try support pac MA01
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

kush911 wrote:
i did a BROWSE NEXT to reach to the appropriate message .. as the BROWSE does not delete the message from the QUerue .. then i did a destructive MQGET which instead of deleting this message deleted the first message from the queue..


MQGET always gets the first message from the queue. Use GET_MSG_UNDER_CURSOR.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kush911
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

i tried the browse-msg-under-cursor option ... but i cannot use it with SYNCPOINT option and the messages still remain on the queue - i.e. its not getting desturctively read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

kush911 wrote:
i tried the browse-msg-under-cursor option ... but i cannot use it with SYNCPOINT option and the messages still remain on the queue - i.e. its not getting desturctively read.


Well no, if you browse the message under the cursor it's not going to be destructively read is it? Why not use the destructive reading version, i.e. without BROWSE????
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kush911
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

but using without browse it deletes the first message from the MQ instead of the 5th message it has to delete.
If i provide browse-msg-under-cursor i am able to catch the cursor at which the record is .... but whn i dont give this option it seems the cursor position gets initialized for destructive read and it deletes the first record
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KevinF23492
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 22

Have you ever thought about reading the Application Programming Guide?

In Chapter 10 : "Getting Messages from a Queue"

There is a section called "Getting a Particular message"...might be worth a read I would think

Closely followed by "Browsing Messages on a Queue: which spookily enough has a little sub topic titled "Removing a message you have browsed"

Sort of may help you a little
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

kush911 wrote:
If i provide browse-msg-under-cursor i am able to catch the cursor at which the record is .... but whn i dont give this option it seems the cursor position gets initialized for destructive read and it deletes the first record


So you are seriously telling me that when you use the option "browse msg under cursor" you get the 5th record, but using the option "msg under cursor" it removes the 1st record??

IF this is what you're saying, double check your code using the reference KevinF23492 has kindly provided. If your code appears correct (i.e. you're not just doing a get when you reach the right record) and the behaviour is repeatable, then you need to contact IBM to raise a PMR.

Or look for the other bug in your code because this works!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kush911
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

i am getting 5th record with "Browse" and also with "Msg_under_cursor" but the problem is the message is not geeting deleted from the queue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

kush911 wrote:
i am getting 5th record with "Browse" and also with "Msg_under_cursor" but the problem is the message is not geeting deleted from the queue.


Well, if you're totally certain that your code matchs the requirements laid out in the manual (specifically that you're using the destructive version of msg_under_cursor) and you've no syncpoint or other code issues preventing the removal of the message then you should raise a PMR. This is the only option when the code is correct and the product does not do what it's documented to do.

It's a shame because I've used this method on many occassions and it works, as (I suspect) have many other people and some of the support packs! I can only theorse that it's a bizzare combination of the CSD level of the product on the particular platform that you're using.

Having eliminated the most likely problem that's all that's left.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tleichen
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 663
Location: Center of the USA

If you're opening the queue with MQOO_BROWSE and you are specifying MQGMO_BROWSE_MSG_UNDER_CURSOR, then the message will not be deleted from the queue.
_________________
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
IBM Certified MQSeries Developer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kush911
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

tnx to all of you for your valueable responses
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santosh.lokhande
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: How do we delete msg's once read. Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Location: NA

I have a similiar doubt.
I am quite new to MQ and for a proj requirement
I am reading the MQ. The problem is I am facing problem
when I read the message and as soon as its read Ive to delete it off.

Pls suggest.
The options I am using are
openOptions = MQC.MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF |MQC.MQOO_OUTPUT| MQC.MQOO_BROWSE

gmo.options = MQC.MQGMO_BROWSE_NEXT | MQC.MQGMO_WAIT

I am using the clearMessage() method on the Message object.
It still is failing to remove the message.
_________________
Regards
Santosh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Deleting particular message from q
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.