Author |
Message
|
Sonal |
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:38 pm Post subject: sending messages from one to many QM |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 20 Mar 2009 Posts: 45
|
Hi All,
Could you please tell me how to send messages from one to many queue managers and many to one queue managers? Is publish/subscribe the solution for this?
Also, how to set priority for the messages coming in a queue? Will "clwlrank" work for this?
Can we implement LIFO/FIFO in queue?
Do I need to hard code for this or Websphere MQ Explorer does has some provisions? (I am a Java developer)
Please Help.
-Sonal |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:59 pm Post subject: Re: sending messages from one to many QM |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Sonal wrote: |
Could you please tell me how to send messages from one to many queue managers and many to one queue managers? Is publish/subscribe the solution for this? |
It is.
Sonal wrote: |
Also, how to set priority for the messages coming in a queue? Will "clwlrank" work for this? |
It will, but only in a clustered setting. Other cluster parameters may suit you better.
Sonal wrote: |
Can we implement LIFO/FIFO in queue? |
WMQ is FIFO within message priority (note this is not the same as the delivery parameters in a cluster you mention above). WMQ does not support LIFO.
Sonal wrote: |
Do I need to hard code for this or Websphere MQ Explorer does has some provisions? |
Hard code what? Priority and other settings? What does Explorer have to do with message delivery?
Sonal wrote: |
(I am a Java developer) |
Congratulations. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:06 am Post subject: Re: sending messages from one to many QM |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
1 to n, pub/sub is possible, but just sending the message more than once is also possible or using a message broker (or other program) to duplicate.
n to 1, just direct the messages to the same qm or queue from multiple places using alias queues or remote queues.
Priority can be set on the MQPUT or the default priority on the queue (aliases are useful here).
FIFO only - can be in priority order as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sonal |
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 20 Mar 2009 Posts: 45
|
Thanks
How to set priority for the messages coming in a queue if I am not using clustered setting?
Btw, you've got a good sense of humor. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Sonal wrote: |
How to set priority for the messages coming in a queue if I am not using clustered setting? |
Set by the sending app when the message is put, either explicitly or by taking the queue default.
Sonal wrote: |
Btw, you've got a good sense of humor. |
Thank you. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sonal |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 20 Mar 2009 Posts: 45
|
zpat wrote:
"1 to n, pub/sub is possible, but just sending the message more than once is also possible or using a message broker (or other program) to duplicate."
"n to 1, just direct the messages to the same qm or queue from multiple places using alias queues or remote queues."
Can you please tell me in details how to do this??
I mean, how to send the message more than once is also possible or using a message broker (or other program) to duplicate?
And, how to direct the messages to the same qm or queue from multiple places using alias queues or remote queues?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Issue the MQPUT MQI call in the originating program more than once (ideally under syncpoint) to different queues.
or
Use a WMB flow (MQINPUT) and simply wire up two (or more) MQOUTPUT nodes to different queues.
or
Code a small program to MQGET a message and MQPUT it more than once (do this under syncpoint).
All these will fan messages out (1 to n) without pub/sub.
Fan in is very simple just direct more than originating queue to one destination queue.
Eg Alias1 -> Base1 and Alias2 -> Base1 (same applies to remotes) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sonal |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 20 Mar 2009 Posts: 45
|
Thanks...
Can we do this using MQ Explorer? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Sonal wrote: |
Can we do this using MQ Explorer? |
MQExplorer is just an admin tool. It doesn't have any coding functions. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9470 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
A Distribution List is a method of 1 to n fan-out. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
You can use MQ explorer to create queue aliases and remote queues that all end up on one target queue. So you can join queues up using admin commands (in effect) but you can't split them up or duplicate messages.
eg.
remote1 on qm1 -> local1 on qm2
remote2 on qm3 -> local1 on qm2
Messages from two origins arrive on one destination. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sonal |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 20 Mar 2009 Posts: 45
|
Can you please provide me a sample Java code for 1 to n and n-1 messaging? Or some guide for the same? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
A quick search of google with the keywords "java mq distribution list" provides numerous results. The first one is http://www.capitalware.biz/mq_code_java.html which contains a sample app called MQDistList described as "demonstrates how to use MQSeries base Java to create and send messages via a distribution list. Source code included. Freeware. Author: Wayne Schutz of IBM."
Is there any reason why you couldnt have performed this simple search? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
You clearly don't understand the answers being given if you are asking for code samples. Learn more about how MQ works. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|