Author |
Message
|
ggulati2 |
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:17 pm Post subject: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 May 2006 Posts: 36
|
Hi,
I need to setup a cluster of two identical QMGRs for workload management.
Can both the QMGRs have same name in the cluster ? If not,How the application/Other QMGR will reference the clustered QMGR/Queue ?
Thanks,
Gourav |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:46 pm Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
ggulati2 wrote: |
Hi,
I need to setup a cluster of two identical QMGRs for workload management.
Can both the QMGRs have same name in the cluster ? If not,How the application/Other QMGR will reference the clustered QMGR/Queue ?
Thanks,
Gourav |
Quote: |
two identical QMGRs |
Identical queue managers (in terms of properties) can exist on the server but should not have the same name.
Queue managers has to have saperate Ports though the IP would same.
Application can connect to the clustered queue manager OR the gateway queue manager to put the message on the queue. Queue can be shared in the cluster OR can have multiple instances on more then one queue managers in that cluster.
Cluster work load manager, will route the message to the queue based on the Round Robin Algo. and the load to traffic of incoming message. (If there are more then once instances of the same queue on multiple queue managers in the same cluster.)
To setup cluster better read the cluster manual first which is being provided by IBM.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:39 pm Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Identical queue managers (in terms of properties) can exist on the server but should not have the same name.
|
Must not have the same name. Double must not if they're in a cluster! _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:41 pm Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ggulati2 wrote: |
Can both the QMGRs have same name in the cluster ? If not,How the application/Other QMGR will reference the clustered QMGR/Queue ? |
Applications don't reference clusters. They connect to queue managers (which may be in a cluster) and use queues (which might be shared in a cluster). _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:04 am Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Vitor wrote: |
ggulati2 wrote: |
Can both the QMGRs have same name in the cluster ? If not,How the application/Other QMGR will reference the clustered QMGR/Queue ? |
Applications don't reference clusters. They connect to queue managers (which may be in a cluster) and use queues (which might be shared in a cluster). |
Absolutely correct !! I agree that the QMs with same name should not be defined within the system.
Applications connect to the Queue Manager. But what if they don't mention the name of the queue manager and just trying to connect using IP address and its PORT number.
Another scenario comes into the picture related to DEFAULT Queue Manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:27 am Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
...Another scenario comes into the picture related to DEFAULT Queue Manager... |
Ever heard of a default cluster? No, thought not, and neither have I. The point being made by Vitor is that only a queue manager can be connected to. If you follow your own logic, you'll see that all the default queue manager provides is a method of abstracting the name of the queue manager to which to connect. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garyprmr |
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 03 Sep 2005 Posts: 74
|
The application need to connect to the queue manager name in the source code .
You can have 2 instances of the application running , connecting to different queue managers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:18 am Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Another scenario comes into the picture related to DEFAULT Queue Manager. |
I trust you're not implying that the default queue manager (in the sense of the -q flag being used on it's crtmqm command) is actually called DEFAULT?
Queue managers are called what you call them. It's impossible to have 2 queue managers called the same name on the same server. It's unwise to have 2 queue managers called the same name on your site. It's fatal to have 2 queue managers called the same name in the same cluster. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:29 pm Post subject: Re: Cluster - Workload management |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Vitor wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Another scenario comes into the picture related to DEFAULT Queue Manager. |
I trust you're not implying that the default queue manager (in the sense of the -q flag being used on it's crtmqm command) is actually called DEFAULT?
Queue managers are called what you call them. It's impossible to have 2 queue managers called the same name on the same server. It's unwise to have 2 queue managers called the same name on your site. It's fatal to have 2 queue managers called the same name in the same cluster. |
Probably my statement has been misinterpreted.
As I said earlier that Queue managers with the same name should not exist in the system. I never nodded for the queue managers with the same name. And I am agree upon that.
I was saying when it comes to connection from an application it may not specify the name of the queue manager.
To make a queue manager as a default, yes -q flag is to be set while creation of the queue manager.
Quote: |
Ever heard of a default cluster? No, thought not, and neither have I. |
Neither have I.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|