|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
using CCDT from WAS |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:20 am Post subject: using CCDT from WAS |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Hi.
We want to connect a WAS to CICS at Host,
thru 2 (wintel) queue managers
that must act as HA/failover for mq client,
this is, using MQCHLTAB.
I am reading
"Using WebSphere MQ binding with a client channel definition table"
by Dr. Fenglian Xu
at
>>> http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/library/techarticles/0704_xu/0704_xu.html
and I am quite surprised to read that
(1)
"the server channel name must be SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN"
(about line 31)
and
(2)
"The client channel name must be SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN for WebSphere Application Server/Process Server/ESB, as required by WebSphere Application Server V6.0"
... 12 lines below
Finaly, 2 pages below it says again :
+ + +
(3)
Problem 2 is caused by picking up the wrong client channel definition from the CCDT, which often happens when using a client channel with a name other than SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN. The solution in this environment is to make sure that there is only one entry in the CCDT, and that it is named SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN.
+ + +
I would like to have a confirmation / reasoning
for such a strange requirement.
This lady uses MQ Explorer to generate MQCHLTAB,
without defining any CLNTCONN at all ... Quite strange to me.
I have used CCDT without WAS and the CLNTCONN names were user-selectable ...
Sebastian. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:34 am Post subject: Re: using CCDT from WAS |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sebastia wrote: |
Hi.
We want to connect a WAS to CICS at Host,
thru 2 (wintel) queue managers
that must act as HA/failover for mq client,
this is, using MQCHLTAB.
I am reading
"Using WebSphere MQ binding with a client channel definition table"
by Dr. Fenglian Xu
at
>>> http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/library/techarticles/0704_xu/0704_xu.html
and I am quite surprised to read that
(1)
"the server channel name must be SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN"
(about line 31) |
I believe you are a victim of complete misconception. You are confusing your need of a failover connection solution with the "demo" of how a CCDT will work in the WAS environment
sebastia wrote: |
and
(2)
"The client channel name must be SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN for WebSphere Application Server/Process Server/ESB, as required by WebSphere Application Server V6.0"
... 12 lines below
Finaly, 2 pages below it says again :
+ + +
(3)
Problem 2 is caused by picking up the wrong client channel definition from the CCDT, which often happens when using a client channel with a name other than SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN. The solution in this environment is to make sure that there is only one entry in the CCDT, and that it is named SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN.
+ + +
|
Stating nothing more than that the client channel name should be unique in the CCDT (yes?) and that the reason code may point to a poorly constructed CCDT...
sebastia wrote: |
I would like to have a confirmation / reasoning
for such a strange requirement.
This lady uses MQ Explorer to generate MQCHLTAB,
without defining any CLNTCONN at all ... Quite strange to me.
I have used CCDT without WAS and the CLNTCONN names were user-selectable ...
Sebastian. |
Remember all you know about the client channel definition table still applies. This is just a quick demo on how to use one with WAS and the demo starts with none existing so you need to create one...
All rules about uniqueness of channel names apply. Note that the qcf possibly uses qmgr name as the field is filled in in the client channel.
Note as well that you are planning to use something like *qmgr name, where the qmgr name is a alias pointing to a list of qmgrs...
All in all a quick first introduction to using a CCDT on WAS.
Not too bad if you take it as an introduction and not as the BIBLE on how to create a CCDT to suit your purposes. As in all quick demos, the channel name was an example suited to a disparate public... not the well informed.
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Hi.
Yes, I need to provide a FailOver solution to WAS people ...
Yes, I have been using CCDT in normal MQ Client with total success ...
So, there is no such obligation to use that specific chanel name ?
The verb "must be" is quite imperative to me ...
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sebastia wrote: |
Hi.
Yes, I need to provide a FailOver solution to WAS people ...
Yes, I have been using CCDT in normal MQ Client with total success ...
So, there is no such obligation to use that specific chanel name ?
The verb "must be" is quite imperative to me ...
Thanks. |
For the demo to work it "must be".
You never said you wanted to implement the demo...
I have used a channel table with JMS albeit not with WAS and had no trouble with channel names not containing the word SYSTEM...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
a) "for the demo to work" ... absolutely right
b) no, I dont want to run this demo, but mine
c) own channels - that is what I shall try
Just was preventing me from having problems with WAS ...
I have been told to use these params in WAS :
Code: |
JMS Connection Factory:
Queue Manager: [blank]
Channel: [blank]
Custom Property:
CCDTURL: file:///www/iaf/mq_ccdt/CHL1.TAB
QMANAGER: *
JMS Queue:
Queue Manager: [blank]
Channel: [blank]
|
[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sebastia wrote: |
a) "for the demo to work" ... absolutely right
b) no, I dont want to run this demo, but mine
c) own channels - that is what I shall try
Just was preventing me from having problems with WAS ...
I have been told to use these params in WAS :
Code: |
JMS Connection Factory:
Queue Manager: [blank]
Channel: [blank]
Custom Property:
CCDTURL: file:///www/iaf/mq_ccdt/CHL1.TAB
QMANAGER: *
JMS Queue:
Queue Manager: [blank]
Channel: [blank]
|
|
Sounds about right. But the use of a qmgr name or *qmgr name does not depend on WAS but on how you want to use the CCDT. This is your input as MQ Admin to the WAS admin.
As well I would have thought that the CCDTURL was part of the properties of the CF in WAS 6.0 and above, and you did not have to go to the custom properties at all.
So you get
Queue Manager = *name (see CCDT setup)
Channel = blank
Port = blank
CCDTURL="file://host/path to channel table/channel table file name"
Remember that the CCDTURL must be readable for the was process user. (read permissions on the file)
You could say
JMSConnectionFactory for app1 use *qmgr1 for qmgr name...
JMSConnectionFactory for app2 use *qmgr3 for qmgr name...
This really depends on how your CCDT is setup and which channels you want to use. If you want to separate your apps by channel the scenario I just mentioned will allow you to do this...using a CCDT.
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
seems I have reached a point of well-being !
Thanks, mr Saper - I shall try in 10 days with my customer !
Sebas. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|