|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Two Compute from one MQInput |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
girish_tharwani |
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:52 pm Post subject: Two Compute from one MQInput |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Aug 2001 Posts: 88 Location: Pune, India
|
I think I can connect two compute nodes from out terminal of an MQInput node and both nodes will get a copy of input message.
My doubts:
Which compute node gets the message first? Random sequence? Both nodes get it simultaneously?
What’s the impact of failure in one compute node on the other compute node? Assume that failure terminal of failing compute node is not connected and there is not try-catch between MQInput node and failing compute node so any exception in failing compute node will rebound back to MQInput node.
I believe I can insulate compute nodes from each other’s failures by connecting failure terminals of these nodes and/or putting try-catch between MQinput and these compute nodes, so that even when one compoute node fails, other can continue and finish its processing.… your thoughts? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:03 pm Post subject: Re: Two Compute from one MQInput |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
I think I can connect two compute nodes from out terminal of an MQInput node and both nodes will get a copy of input message.
YES
My doubts:
Which compute node gets the message first? Random sequence? Both nodes get it simultaneously?
random sequence
What’s the impact of failure in one compute node on the other compute node? Assume that failure terminal of failing compute node is not connected and there is not try-catch between MQInput node and failing compute node so any exception in failing compute node will rebound back to MQInput node.
complete failure of transaction
I believe I can insulate compute nodes from each other’s failures by connecting failure terminals of these nodes and/or putting try-catch between MQinput and these compute nodes, so that even when one compoute node fails, other can continue and finish its processing.… your thoughts?
exactly... thats what we have done in our project _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
girish_tharwani |
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:37 pm Post subject: Re: Two Compute from one MQInput |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 01 Aug 2001 Posts: 88 Location: Pune, India
|
AkankshA wrote: |
complete failure of transaction
|
I am planning to insulate my compute nodes for failures as you suggested but just for sack of argument, let’s assume that my compute nodes are not insulated ie failure terminal not connected and no TryCatch between MQInput and Compute nodes. Now let’s complicate the scenario a little further. First compute node which gets the message is able to process is successfully and sends it on MQOutput queue which places it on queue. Now the second compute node fails. Now what? How will it be handled? I believe whether the messages are persistent-transactional or not will also come in to play here.
I guess I need to go back and test it all. Meanwhile, share your thoughts? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQEnthu |
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 06 Oct 2008 Posts: 329 Location: India
|
girish_tharwani wrote: |
My doubts:
Which compute node gets the message first? Random sequence? Both nodes get it simultaneously?
|
message will be sent in random sequence...Use FlowOrderNode if you want the message to be sent in any perticular order... _________________ -----------------------------------------------
It is good to remember the past,
but don't let past capture your future |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQEnthu |
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 06 Oct 2008 Posts: 329 Location: India
|
girish_tharwani wrote: |
I am planning to insulate my compute nodes for failures as you suggested but just for sack of argument, let’s assume that my compute nodes are not insulated ie failure terminal not connected and no TryCatch between MQInput and Compute nodes. Now let’s complicate the scenario a little further. First compute node which gets the message is able to process is successfully and sends it on MQOutput queue which places it on queue. Now the second compute node fails. Now what? How will it be handled? I believe whether the messages are persistent-transactional or not will also come in to play here.
I guess I need to go back and test it all. Meanwhile, share your thoughts? |
With the default transaction setting of MQOutput node (transaction mode set automatic), the message will be put into the queue in a unit of work, hence when there is exception in flow message will be rolled back. If you have set the transaction mode of MQOutput node to 'NO' message will be put to the queue even if there is exception in the second compute node.. _________________ -----------------------------------------------
It is good to remember the past,
but don't let past capture your future |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|