Author |
Message
|
prashant |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 9:41 pm Post subject: Can MQSeries send a message?? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 Aug 2002 Posts: 17
|
Hi,
I have written an application for sending the message to the MQSeries which, after sending the message to the queue expects some reply. This reply should be sent by the MQSeries only saying that message is recieved. I know that if send is successfull then message must have been recieved by the MQSeries, even then I want MQSeries to send me a reply message saying that message has been recieved. Please keep in mind that it is MQSeries only that should send me the reply, not other application.
So how can I configure MQSeries to send me the reply message?
Thanks
Prashant |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgrabinski |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:05 pm Post subject: reply |
|
|
Master
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 246 Location: Katowice, Poland
|
Specify the following in your MQMD when sending your message:
Report=COA
ReplyToQueue=<any_local_queue>
ReplyToQMgr=<blank>
COA means Confirm On Arival
ReplyToQ is a queue where MQSeries will send you a confirmation message
ReplyToQMgr is queue manager name that should receive the reply, if left blank, the confirmation message will go to the menager your app is connected to.
The conformation message will have the Feedback field of MQMD set to MQFB_COA and CorrelId will be equal to MsgId of the original message _________________ Marcin Grabinski <>< |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Prashant,
You are talking about COA/COD messages.
COA message is generated when a message is reached at target queue.
COD message is generated when the message has been retrieve by a receiving application.
Both of these messages are generated by Queue manager. You need to set proper value in MQMD.Report field to get these messages. You also need to specify ReplyToQ and ReplyToQmgr.
For more information please go thru Chapter 10 of MQSeries Application Programming Reference. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
prashant |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 Aug 2002 Posts: 17
|
Hi,
Thanks for ur reply. I am using JMS. Can you tell me how can I configure these parameters from JMS.
Prashant |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 11:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Prashant,
And everyone else. Let's try to limit ourselves to posting questions in only ONE forum. I know you want to make sure your question gets answered, but most everyone uses the "show postings since my last visit" link to see what's new, so they'll see your question regardless of what forum it's in.
Thanks! _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
prashant |
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 11:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 01 Aug 2002 Posts: 17
|
Hi
I am sorry for that I posted my queries in three forums, but that time I was desperate to find the answer. I won't do it again.
Now coming back to the same question..
How can I set report parameters from MQSeries explorer? Can I set these parameters from explorer or not? What I want is that for every message recieved in a queue the queue manager sends a reply message to a queue and this queue and queue manager names are configurable from the MQSeries explorer.
Thanks
Prashant |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgrabinski |
Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2002 1:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 246 Location: Katowice, Poland
|
report options are set individualy for each message, you cannot set any queue attributes to achieve that. _________________ Marcin Grabinski <>< |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|