ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using CREATE FIELD with PROPAGATE

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Using CREATE FIELD with PROPAGATE « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
CHERIANV
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 12:48 pm    Post subject: Using CREATE FIELD with PROPAGATE Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 15 Feb 2002
Posts: 43
Location: New York

Hi,
I am facing a problem when using CREATE FIELD along with PROPAGATE.
Any input would be appreciated!

Suppose I use it like the following for an XML to MRM transformation for assigning my OutputRoot.MRM fields,it ofcourse doesnt work as it expects the CREATE FIELD and outref REERENCE declaration to be within WHILE loop as I PROPAGATE . I just want to figure out the most efficient way to use REFERENCE in the OutputRoot as I have several lines of similiar field assignments and different scenarios to PROPAGATE within the WHILE loop.

DECLARE inref REFERENCE to InputRoot.XML.PARENT.CHILD[1];
CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;
DECLARE outref REFERENCE to OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;

WHILE LASTMOVE(inref) THEN
Assign Properties;
Assign MQMD;

Set outref.field1 = 'a';
Set outref.field2 = 'b';
Set outref.field3 = 'c';
PROPAGATE;

MOVE inref TO NEXTSIBLING REPEAT NAME;

END WHILE;

RETURN FALSE;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Are you trying to create multiple output messages in MRM format from a single XML input message? Could you post an example of your input and output message?
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CHERIANV
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 15 Feb 2002
Posts: 43
Location: New York

Yes,Kiran. I am creating multiple MRM messages of a single XML msg. Iam able to iterate thru my Input XML msg. using REFERENCE, LASTMOVE and MOVE without any problem. Its only when I create my output msg. do I hit into problems when using PROPAGATE within a WHILE loop.

My output MRM structure looks like :

01 STRUCT1.
03 LEVEL1.
05 LEVEL2.
07 FIELD1 PIC X(01).
07 FIELD2 PIC X(03).
...etc.

I attempted to declare a reference to my output msg. like the following and then used STRUCT1_REF to assign fields within my WHILE loop with PROPAGATE like my prev. post.

CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM.STRUCT1.LEVEL1;
DECLARE STRUCT1_REF REFERENCE OutputRoot.MRM.STRUCT1.LEVEL1;

I tried to playaround by using MOVE STRUCT1_REF to FIRSTCHILD etc. for every iteration and it still doesnt work.It works if I put the above CREATE FIELD and DECLARE STRUCT_REF1 declaration within the loop but I want to be able to use STRUCT_REF1 in the entire Compute node (if u know what I mean) and dont want that. Any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

You could move the DECLARE statement out of WHILE loop and then do CREATE FIELD inside the while loop?

Code:

DECLARE inref REFERENCE to InputRoot.XML.PARENT.CHILD[1];
CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM;
DECLARE outref REFERENCE to OutputRoot.MRM;

WHILE LASTMOVE(inref) THEN
  -- Assign properties
  -- Assign MQMD

  CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;
  MOVE outref OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;

  Set outref.field1 = 'a';
  Set outref.field2 = 'b';
  Set outref.field3 = 'c';
  ...
  PROPAGATE;

  MOVE inref TO NEXTSIBLING REPEAT NAME;
END WHILE;

RETURN FALSE;

_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CHERIANV
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 15 Feb 2002
Posts: 43
Location: New York

Hi,
Thanks for your suggestion. I presume the st. MOVE outref OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2 within the WHILE loop is MOVE outref TO OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2 . I just tried this and its failing with error msg. "An unexpected NULL value was encountered". Also, the logical tree in my Trace node during the 2'nd iteration has all Properties fields as NULL. Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

I know similar logic works for XML messages. I will have to test this on my machine for output MRM message.
I will post the results here.
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warrenpage
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 19 Feb 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Australia

We do exactly as you are asking using the following code


DECLARE GlobalParms REFERENCE TO "InputDestinationList"."Scratch"."Global"."Properties";
DECLARE CurrRec REFERENCE TO "InputDestinationList"."Scratch"."Record";

WHILE LASTMOVE(CurrRec) DO
SET OutputRoot.Properties = InputRoot.Properties;
SET OutputRoot.MQMD = InputRoot.MQMD;
SET OutputRoot.MQMD.Format = 'MQSTR';

SET "OutputRoot"."Properties"."MessageSet" = GlobalParms."MessageSet";
SET "OutputRoot"."Properties"."MessageDomain" = GlobalParms."MessageDomain";
SET "OutputRoot"."Properties"."CodedCharSetId" = GlobalParms."CodedCharSetId";
SET "OutputRoot"."Properties"."MessageFormat" = GlobalParms."MessageFormat";

SET "OutputRoot"."Properties"."MessageType" = CurrRec."Properties"."MessageType";

SET "OutputRoot"."MRM" = NULL;
SET "OutputRoot"."MRM" = CurrRec.MRM;
PROPAGATE;
MOVE CurrRec NEXTSIBLING REPEAT TYPE NAME;
END WHILE;

RETURN FALSE;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
kirani
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

CHERIANV,

I have tested REFERENCE with PROPAGATE for XML to MRM conversion and it works fine. My code looks very similar to warrenpage's code.

Code:

DECLARE I INTEGER;
SET I = 1;
WHILE I < CARDINALITY(InputRoot.*[]) DO
   SET OutputRoot.*[I] = InputRoot.*[I];
   SET I=I+1;
END WHILE;
-- Enter SQL below this line.  SQL above this line might be regenerated, causing any modifications to be lost.

DECLARE inref REFERENCE TO InputRoot.XML.Parent.Child[1];
SET OutputRoot.Properties = Environment.Variables.Properties;
SET OutputRoot.MQMD = Environment.Variables.MQMD;
CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM;
DECLARE outref REFERENCE TO OutputRoot.MRM;

WHILE LASTMOVE(inref)  DO
  SET OutputRoot.Properties = InputRoot.Properties;
  SET OutputRoot.MQMD = InputRoot.MQMD;
  SET OutputRoot.MRM = NULL;

  CREATE FIELD OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;
  MOVE outref TO OutputRoot.MRM.LEVEL1.LEVEL2;
  SET outref.field1 = 'a';
  SET outref.field2 = 'b';
  SET outref.field3 = 'c';

  SET OutputRoot.Properties.MessageSet = 'DPUAIHK07A001';
  SET OutputRoot.Properties.MessageType = 'm_COB';
  SET OutputRoot.Properties.MessageFormat = 'CWF';
  PROPAGATE;

  MOVE inref NEXTSIBLING ;
END WHILE;

RETURN FALSE;

_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CHERIANV
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 15 Feb 2002
Posts: 43
Location: New York

Thanks much Kiran and warren for your suggestions and examples. I was able to fit this functionality into a fairly large and complex piece of code.

Cherian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using CREATE FIELD with PROPAGATE
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.