Author |
Message
|
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:42 pm Post subject: Mq Clustering-workload balancing problem |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
Hi
I m santosh , working for Unisys Global Services India Pvt, Limited.
I m working with Mq Cluster and Hub-Spoke architectures.
i have created mq cluster with 4 queue managers, i shared a queue named "hub_queue" in all queue managers part of cluster. when a drop msgs from any one of "hub_queue" inside the any one of queue manager within the cluster, workload balancing is working properly, and all msgs are evenly distrubuting among all queue managers.
But when i drop msgs from remote queue definition of "hub_queue" , outside the queuemanager that is not a part of cluster, when i specify the particlular queue manager as "remote queue manager" within the definition of remote queue, msgs are going to only that queue manager in the cluster, workload balancing is not working there,
can any one please help me how to enable workload balancing in this case
Thanks in advance
Regards
Santosh kumar Veerlapati |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
It's working as advertised...
Within the QR in the non-cluster queue manager, you are explicitly specifying the queue manager name, therefore that is where the message will go.
Suggested reading is the Intercommunication manual. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
actually my requirement is like that only, when i drop a message from outside the queue manager that is not part of cluster using remote queue definition , the messages should evely distrubute over the cluster queue managers , for that what i need to do..??
actually i m connecting both hub&Spoke and Cluster architectures together |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
actually my requirement is like that only, when i drop a message from outside the queue manager that is not part of cluster using remote queue definition , the messages should evely distrubute over the cluster queue managers , for that what i need to do..??
|
Follow the instructions in the Cluster manual for putting messages outside the cluster. There's an entire section on it.
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
As a hint, investigate 'empty' QR objects, i.e. no RQNAME, no RQMNAME. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
ya i understand ..
But my requirement is like below ..
we have hub-spoke architecture.. where multiple spokes will communicate with hub and drops messages to the hub queue(queue manager) , where the messages will be processed by the application where it is running on the hub queue manager(hub_queue).
Now , we want reduce the workload on the hub queue and make another queue manager run parallel with that hub queue manager and reduce the work load, for that i m trying the other queue manager and hub queue manager in cluster , and trying to communicate the hub with spokes, by dropping messages in the queue which is shared across the cluster, but work load is not distrubuting among those queue managers, it is only going to the hub queue manager.
from spoke queue manager i have created remote queue definition pointing to the queue which is hosted at hub ..
Can u please correct me about my architecture
Thanks in advance[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
As above...or if using WMQ V6.0, consider the CLWLUSEQ attributes. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
Can u please correct me about my architecture |
The architecture's fine in principle. Use the documented technique and you should be ok. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
exerk wrote: |
As above...or if using WMQ V6.0, consider the CLWLUSEQ attributes. |
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
yes .. i put CLWL use queue attribute as "any" for the cluster shared queue manager, even though it is behaving in the same manner..
means , when i drop msgs from any of QM , shared queue it is distrubuting over the cluster, when i drop msgs form the outside cluster queue manager, using remote queue definition it is not distrubuting msgs thorugh out the cluster qmgrs
Thanks in advance
santosh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
when i drop msgs form the outside cluster queue manager, using remote queue definition it is not distrubuting msgs thorugh out the cluster qmgrs |
Because you're not using the documented technique to put from outside the cluster, and thus the workload balancing is not invoked.
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
what is that documented technique..?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
what is that documented technique..?? |
Vitor wrote: |
Follow the instructions in the Cluster manual for putting messages outside the cluster. There's an entire section on it. |
_________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
santosh.veerlapati |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 87
|
no i m following the documentation, but i m not getting workload balancing when communicate outside from cluster..
i think i might be going wroung in defining remote queue definition
please help me regarding this |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
no i m following the documentation, |
santosh.veerlapati wrote: |
i think i might be going wroung in defining remote queue definition |
These 2 statements are incompatable...
I think you're right though. Use the hint my most worthy associate gave further up the thread, and check again.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|