|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
A question about Request- and Response-Queue |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
thomas2004 |
Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:50 am Post subject: A question about Request- and Response-Queue |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 16
|
I am new to WebSpere MQ. I am a little bit confused with Request- and Response-Queue.
I think, request or response is relative. Assumed two applications appA and appB communicate with each other via MQ-queues. The situation looks as below:
Request_Queue
appA -------------------------> appB
Response Queue
<-------------------------
If appA send request to appB, it will put message into the "Request-Queue" and get response from "Response-Queue".
But if the appB send request to appA, to which queue it should put the message? To "Response-Queue"? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:56 am Post subject: Re: A question about Request- and Response-Queue |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
thomas2004 wrote: |
But if the appB send request to appA, to which queue it should put the message? To "Response-Queue"? |
Request / Reply is unidirectional. You'd set up another pair of request / reply queues to service the reverse directions.
You could do a few funky things with correlation ids, but not if you're new to MQ.
Remember that MQ has no internal concept of request / reply queues; it's just how your application is using them. There's no reason why a queue can't receive request messages, datagrams or anything else. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
under normal conditions, an application will not be requester and responder, it will be one of both.
however, you can take the same queues, you can take different queues, it depends on your setup, your naming conventions, your security, your application design,.......
if your setup is as simple as you posted, then - yes - application B must put into response queue for application A to get the request, but in that case you will get confused by the names (please put your request in my resonse queue, so that i can send my response into your request queue) _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Also the request message should have the replytoqueue name in the MQMD. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|