Author |
Message
|
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:18 am Post subject: Suppression of messages in MQ errror log |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I want to suppress or exclude an error code (AMQ8721) from the MQ error log, but this is not one of those codes listed as suppressable or excludeable in the infocenter.
Is there any way to stop this message which is written by runmqdlq every time it encounters a DLQ message without a DLH? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
i would rather go and tell the applications not to use the DLQ _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Of course, but life is never that easy.
But as a general point, why can't any message number be suppressed? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Recompile runmqdlq after tweaking amqodqla.c to comment out the call to odqFFDC in
Code: |
/*--------------------------------------------------------------------*/
/* Check that the message we've taken of the DLQ is prefixed */
/* by an MQDLH. */
/* If not then assume that it should be ignored by this process, but */
/* out a message warning the user that we hit a message we did not */
/* expect. */
/*--------------------------------------------------------------------*/
if( !dlh || (memcmp(MQDLH_STRUC_ID,dlh->StrucId,4) != 0) ||
(MQDLH_VERSION_1 != dlh->Version) ||
(MessageLength < 0 ) )
{
odqFFDC(/*IN*/
FUNCTION,
odq_InvalidDLQHeader,
0,
0,
dlh,
sizeof(MQDLH),
"MQDLH",
NULL
/*OUT*/
);
rc = odq_InvalidDLQHeader ;
} |
In the samples directory. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
This is a shotgun solution - that I'd avoid.
This needs to be pushed back to the application folks so they set up an application-level queue for such messages; and that the system dlq is not used as a trash bin.
You will be forever suppressing this for every message the dead-letter handler encounters - for present and future messages. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Recompile runmqdlq after tweaking amqodqla.c to comment out the call to odqFFDC
In the samples directory. |
OK, that might do - care to give me a command to recompile the source (on AIX 5.3)? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
zpat wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
Recompile runmqdlq after tweaking amqodqla.c to comment out the call to odqFFDC
In the samples directory. |
OK, that might do - care to give me a command to recompile the source (on AIX 5.3)? |
Start here
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.mq.csqzal.doc/fg16150_.htm
I guess I don't remember if you're using MQ v6 or MQ v7. It looks like on MQ v7 samp/dlq/ may have a makefile. I have amqodqx.mak on my windows Tools\c\sample\dlq\ which is claiming that it is windows specific - so I'd halfway expect that the Unix install has a unix specific makefile.
if nothign else, it's not a hard change to modify the windows makefile based on the above Unix command line options. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:18 am Post subject: Re: Suppression of messages in MQ errror log |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
zpat wrote: |
I want to suppress or exclude an error code (AMQ8721) from the MQ error log, but this is not one of those codes listed as suppressable or excludeable in the infocenter.
Is there any way to stop this message which is written by runmqdlq every time it encounters a DLQ message without a DLH? |
You should only allow an app to put messages to the System DLQ if it also adds a DLQH to the message.
In fact the app could have a BO/error Queue and an app specific DLQ...
This way the app specific DLQ (having only messages with DLQH) can be used with the dlq handler...
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I'm using WMQ v7.0.1.2 on AIX |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
zpat wrote: |
I'm using WMQ v7.0.1.2 on AIX |
Okay. So you should be able to
Code: |
cd /usr/mqm/samp/dlq
make amqodqx.mk |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|