ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Invalid MQMD??

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Invalid MQMD?? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
upcominggeek
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:47 am    Post subject: Invalid MQMD?? Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 35
Location: Boston, US

Hi,
I am getting an invalid MQMD exception when I am trying to send a message from a compute node. But I was not able to figure out any probs with the MQMD as such. The culprit seems to be a simple resetting of MQMD parms although it seems very innocent.

SET OutputRoot.MQMD.Format = MQFMT_STRING;
SET OutputRoot.MQMD.Priority = 0;
SET OutputRoot.MQRFH2 = NULL;

Once this code is executed, the resulting headers looks like what is given below. But if I send this to MQOutput, it fails to put it with an error invalid MQMD. Any ideas? I can recreate the MQMD and I think that should resolve the issue. But I would rather find out the real issue than trying to work around it.

(
(0x01000000):Properties = (
(0x03000000):MessageSet = ''
(0x03000000):MessageType = ''
(0x03000000):MessageFormat = ''
(0x03000000):Encoding = 546
(0x03000000):CodedCharSetId = 1208
(0x03000000):Transactional = FALSE
(0x03000000):Persistence = FALSE
(0x03000000):CreationTime = GMTTIMESTAMP '2008-09-23 15:36:49.429500'
(0x03000000):ExpirationTime = -1
(0x03000000):Priority = 0
(0x03000000):ReplyIdentifier = X'000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000'
(0x03000000):ReplyProtocol = 'MQ'
(0x03000000):Topic = NULL
(0x03000000):ContentType = 'text/xml; charset=utf-8'
)
(0x01000000):MQMD = (
(0x03000000):SourceQueue = 'XXXXXX'
(0x03000000):Transactional = FALSE
(0x03000000):Encoding = 546
(0x03000000):CodedCharSetId = 1208
(0x03000000):Format = 'MQSTR '
(0x03000000):Version = 2
(0x03000000):Report = 0
(0x03000000):MsgType = 8
(0x03000000):Expiry = -1
(0x03000000):Feedback = 0
(0x03000000):Priority = 0
(0x03000000):Persistence = 0
(0x03000000):MsgId = X'414d512055553330202020202020202048c9946f200bad08'
(0x03000000):CorrelId = X'000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000'
(0x03000000):BackoutCount = 0
(0x03000000):ReplyToQ = ' '
(0x03000000):ReplyToQMgr = 'UU30 '
(0x03000000):UserIdentifier = 'mqm '
(0x03000000):AccountingToken = X'0137000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000006'
(0x03000000):ApplIdentityData = ' '
(0x03000000):PutApplType = 28
(0x03000000):PutApplName = 'WebSphere MQ Client for Java'
(0x03000000):PutDate = DATE '2008-09-23'
(0x03000000):PutTime = GMTTIME '15:36:49.429500'
(0x03000000):ApplOriginData = ' '
(0x03000000):GroupId = X'000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000'
(0x03000000):MsgSeqNumber = 1
(0x03000000):Offset = 0
(0x03000000):MsgFlags = 0
(0x03000000):OriginalLength = -1
)
(0x01000010):XMLNS = (
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

You shouldn't just delete the RFH2. Remember that MQ does header chaining. What does this mean? This means that before you can delete the header you need to set the Format, CCSID, and encoding from the header you delete to the preceding header.

I suspect that your text might not be in CCSID 1208 and there might be some other discrepancies...

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
upcominggeek
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 21 Aug 2006
Posts: 35
Location: Boston, US

Hi fjb_saper,
I think I am following you at a very high level. To give you some more inputs to what I am doing, here is my scenario
App A doesnt have RFH2. App A invokes App B (JMS) and App B response comes with an RFH2 (of course!!). But App A needs to reset the headers before it can call a legacy app App C. This is why I am trying to remove RFH2 headers and resetting MQMD Format from MQHRF2 (after App B JMS response is received) to MQSTR again.

Now to your point, I have got 2 questions.
1) Are you suggesting that I might need to store my original MQ headers and reset it to this one instead of blindly deleting MQRFH2? I think my new one looks pretty similar to the actual one.
2) Are you suggesting that even though MQMD shows CCSID as 1208, body might not be? This is scary. But I had verified that my XMLNS is indeed legible which should mean that it is atleast ASCII. Is this not enough?

And I am not sure what you mean by saying there might be other issues. Are you suggesting that the Output message might have other headers or misplaced data outside body or MQMD? I dont think so. I have dumped the root to a trace file and evaluated it atleast 10 times and everything seems ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

upcominggeek wrote:
Hi fjb_saper,
I think I am following you at a very high level. To give you some more inputs to what I am doing, here is my scenario
App A doesnt have RFH2. App A invokes App B (JMS) and App B response comes with an RFH2 (of course!!). But App A needs to reset the headers before it can call a legacy app App C. This is why I am trying to remove RFH2 headers and resetting MQMD Format from MQHRF2 (after App B JMS response is received) to MQSTR again.

Now to your point, I have got 2 questions.
1) Are you suggesting that I might need to store my original MQ headers and reset it to this one instead of blindly deleting MQRFH2? I think my new one looks pretty similar to the actual one.
2) Are you suggesting that even though MQMD shows CCSID as 1208, body might not be? This is scary. But I had verified that my XMLNS is indeed legible which should mean that it is atleast ASCII. Is this not enough?

And I am not sure what you mean by saying there might be other issues. Are you suggesting that the Output message might have other headers or misplaced data outside body or MQMD? I dont think so. I have dumped the root to a trace file and evaluated it atleast 10 times and everything seems ok.

I was looking at it from a more generic perspective, and not necessarily a broker perspective. Header chaining means that the header you have describes the data that comes after it. This may be another header. The last header describes the data. If you just remove a header you may loose valuable information. This is why when you remove a header you need to recreate the link by populating the relevant fields of the preceding header with the ccsid, encoding and format information from the header you remove.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Invalid MQMD??
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.