Author |
Message
|
gechu |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:19 am Post subject: List current fixed bindings? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 48
|
Is it correct to say that an application that has established a binding to a queue has to be restarted to drop that binding before that queue can be moved? (removed and recreated at another QM)
My problem is that I don´t know whether a queue is bound or not. Is it possible to somehow find it out? I.e. list all current fixed bindings on a QM? All I know is whether a queue has to use binding or not, but not the properties of the actual queues in use.
Erik |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:40 am Post subject: Re: List current fixed bindings? |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
gechu wrote: |
Is it correct to say that an application that has established a binding to a queue has to be restarted to drop that binding before that queue can be moved? (removed and recreated at another QM)
My problem is that I don´t know whether a queue is bound or not. Is it possible to somehow find it out? I.e. list all current fixed bindings on a QM? All I know is whether a queue has to use binding or not, but not the properties of the actual queues in use.
Erik |
did you try DIS QS(myqueue) ??  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gechu |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 48
|
fjb_saper thx for your quick reply!
I´ve googled dis QS and found this this ibm page.
But I find it difficult to understand the ascii style syntax. All I want to do is to see all queues with fixed bindings, is this something in the right direction:
display qstatus(*) type(channel) opentype(all) ?
Erik |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
So you do not want to look at the status but at the definition...
Dis q(*) where (defbind eq fixed) ?
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gechu |
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 48
|
I would like to know what the actual state of a queue is. And by state I mean if it is bound or not, at a particular moment in time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SAFraser |
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 22 Oct 2003 Posts: 742 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
I wonder if we might be using the term "binding" in different ways...?
You mention you want to know the state of a queue so that it can be deleted. Perhaps you are referring to whether an application has the queue open for PUTs and GETs, as this type of status would prevent you from deleting the queue.
If this is what you are looking for, there are a couple of ways to do it. Output would be easy to read if you use this:
Code: |
dis qlocal(*) ipprocs opprocs |
Any value greater than zero for either parameter means that the queue has open handles and cannot be deleted.
If I have misinterpreted your question, my apologies! Please ask again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sami.stormrage |
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 186 Location: Bangalore/Singapore
|
Delete ql(q) purge could be a option.. for forcibly deleting a Q _________________ *forgetting everything * |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SAFraser |
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 22 Oct 2003 Posts: 742 Location: Austin, Texas, USA
|
That's an excellent option if there are messages in the queue, once you get the IPPROCs and OPPROCs released.
If the procs are coming from an app that is connecting via a client channel, I believe that killing the channel would release the procs. Would also disrupt anyone else using the channel, of course! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Have you guys tried:
dis conn(*) where (objname eq queuename) ?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gechu |
Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 48
|
Quote: |
.. whether an application has the queue open for PUTs and GETs, as this type of status would prevent you from deleting the queue. |
That is exacally what Im looking for! Thanks!
Will try the commands you suggested, but I would also like to know a little bit more about fjb_saper pseudo code; what do you mean by objname? I thought a queue (queuename) was a type of object?
EDIT: Found out how it works by my self.
Erik |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|