Author |
Message
|
semasaba |
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 5:28 am Post subject: Websphere V6.1 Admin console - JMS over IP |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 17
|
Hi guys,
can somebody explain me, how to install websphere mq within the websphere administrative console? I'm using Websphere V6.1 Server.
I successfully installed websphere mq on my local pc within websphere mq explorer.
I just created a ws-manager in websphere mq explorer and was able to connect via ip and port through my java application.
MQTopicConnectionFactory cf = new MQTopicConnectionFactory();
cf.setHostName("myHost");
cf.setPort(1414);
cf.setTransportType(JMSC.MQJMS_TP_CLIENT_MQ_TCPIP);
cf.setQueueManager("myQueue");
MQTopicConnection connection = (MQTopicConnection) cf.createTopicConnection();
Now, I want to do the same with the application server, instead of using websphere mq explorer. I still want connect via ip and not with jndi.
Thx, for every help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 8:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Get with the program. You are in a J2EE environment (WAS 6.1) and need to conform.
This means connect via JNDI. You can do the same from your stand alone using a file based context... No code change but for the initial context setup...
By the way the JNDI will request the information for host channel port etc...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
semasaba |
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 11:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 17
|
I have seen in the admin console some options to create an queue manager with hostname and port. I just was not able to run the whole thing. Are you really sure that it is not possible to create a queue manager and connect via ip like in websphere mq explorer? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue May 27, 2008 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
semasaba wrote: |
I have seen in the admin console some options to create an queue manager with hostname and port. I just was not able to run the whole thing. Are you really sure that it is not possible to create a queue manager and connect via ip like in websphere mq explorer? |
Everything is possible. Is it advisable though?
The point of using JNDI in a J2EE application is that it provides a layer of indirection...
You (the app) have no idea where the resource resides and the admin can change it's location... this is transparent to the app.
All you need to know is how to get/ access the resource and that is done through the JNDI call.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
semasaba |
Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 11:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 21 May 2008 Posts: 17
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Everything is possible. Is it advisable though?
|
In my case it is. I have a special case with one central WAS and many decentral WAS and to configure a JNDI ressource on each WAS and to link all MQ with the central MQ is really to much admin and maintainance effort.
Anyway....do you or anybody else know, how to configure the MQ in WAS to connect via IP?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu May 29, 2008 3:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
semasaba wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
Everything is possible. Is it advisable though?
|
In my case it is. I have a special case with one central WAS and many decentral WAS and to configure a JNDI ressource on each WAS and to link all MQ with the central MQ is really to much admin and maintainance effort.
Anyway....do you or anybody else know, how to configure the MQ in WAS to connect via IP?  |
Again .... get with the program. Look up the ND edition which is exactly what you are looking for. Configure once and push the config to your 100+ instances... _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|