Author |
Message
|
gjohn |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:30 am Post subject: MQ Queue connections |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 2
|
I have few questions
1.Is it correct that each Queue Manager has only one listener?
2.Is there a limit on "Server Connection" channels that I can create
3.On a single "Server connection" how many Queue connections can be opened for PUT/GET
4.I use .net to connect to QM/Queues
I have dedicated connections to the Queues
ieMQQueue connection is established and used till a PUT/GET throws an exception
Once I see an exception I reconnect.
The question is every day the Queue Open Input/Output count is increasing and each day I see the count about 20 each for Input and Output.Why is the Queue Open Input/Output increasing? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:34 am Post subject: Re: MQ Queue connections |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
gjohn wrote: |
1.Is it correct that each Queue Manager has only one listener? |
Yes
gjohn wrote: |
2.Is there a limit on "Server Connection" channels that I can create |
No
gjohn wrote: |
3.On a single "Server connection" how many Queue connections can be opened for PUT/GET |
You don't connect to a queue, you connect to a queue manager. This connection allows you to open queues hosted by the queue manager. There must be a limit but I've never heard of an application hitting it.
The maximum number of connections allowed is configurable, and limited by machine resources in the last recourse.
gjohn wrote: |
4.I use .net to connect to QM/Queues
I have dedicated connections to the Queues
ieMQQueue connection is established and used till a PUT/GET throws an exception
Once I see an exception I reconnect.
The question is every day the Queue Open Input/Output count is increasing and each day I see the count about 20 each for Input and Output.Why is the Queue Open Input/Output increasing? |
Because you never disconnect. Or close. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Can't you define multiple listeners for a single queue manager? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
bower5932 wrote: |
Can't you define multiple listeners for a single queue manager? |
I believe so but you'd need an unusual reason to do so, especially in these modern days of threaded listeners. Given the poster's obvious level of experience, I gave the "conventional" answer.
Under most of those circumstances you'd be in an interesting network configuration which might push you in other ways anyway. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
1.Is it correct that each Queue Manager has only one listener? |
To support inbound channels, you will need (at least) one listener for each network protocol.
As an example: z/OS WMQ supports TCP/IP and LU6.2 protocols; therefore two listeners, one for TCP/IP channels, and one for LU6.2 channels.
Then there's NETBIOS and SPX... _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gjohn |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 9:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 2
|
For my question on Input/Output count increasing.
Following are my observation
1.I start my application I make 3 connections to the Queue and I see Input/Oputup count 3.When I shut down my Application I do close the Queue and QM and the Count goes back to 0.This is correct.
2.After a day I see the Input/Output count always around 20.
I am supposing there are network trouble and my Application reconnect to Queues after calling close on existing connection.
I believe when there is a network problem MQ doesnot release the connection so the count keep increasing as I reconnect.
OR I suspect there is a timer in the connection to the Queue which expires if there is nothing to PUT/GET |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 9:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
gjohn wrote: |
OR I suspect there is a timer in the connection to the Queue which expires if there is nothing to PUT/GET |
No _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|