Author |
Message
|
raghav129 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:21 pm Post subject: OneTimeoutControlnode and multiple timeoutnotification nodes |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 Posts: 17
|
Hello
If we setup One TimeoutControl node and multiple timeout notification nodes all having the same unique identifier,how will be the message processing when the timeoutcontrol node invokes the timeoutcontrol nodes?
how the value of COUNT in timeoutrequest message affects the message processing?
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
timeout control node and tim out notification node works as a pair.... and identified with unique pair
u shall have as many time out control nodes in your flow as many time out notification nodes... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
raghav129 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 Posts: 17
|
Akanksha many thanks for your reply,
Do you have any idea on the performance complications invloved in using the timeoutcontrol and timeoutnotification nodes? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gaya3 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 Posts: 2493 Location: Boston, US
|
raghav129 wrote: |
Do you have any idea on the performance complications invloved in using the timeoutcontrol and timeoutnotification nodes? |
We experienced some impacts on the performance.
some time it hangs the entire flow..it happened to us.
Regards
Gayathri _________________ Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
raghav129 wrote: |
Akanksha many thanks for your reply,
Do you have any idea on the performance complications invloved in using the timeoutcontrol and timeoutnotification nodes? |
none so far...
performance wise i accept that it does affect the flow if u have a large number of time out nodes and also pending requests....
though i did not face any peculiar problem with them.... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
raghav129 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 Posts: 17
|
Thnx for your reply
Actually in our case we want to route a particular message to multiple destinations where all the destinations are independent of each other.
This can be achieved using MQ queues but we are looking for a solution with out using MQ queues. We looked at Label node and Timeout nodes.
But using Label nodes we will not be able to route a single message to multiple label nodes where each label node is independent of other.
So we are looking at the solution of using timeout nodes to route messages to multiple destinations and making sure that all the destinations are independent of each other's processing.
Please let me know if you have any others solutions for the above scenario of parallel message processing? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
raghav129 wrote: |
Thnx for your reply
Actually in our case we want to route a particular message to multiple destinations where all the destinations are independent of each other.
This can be achieved using MQ queues but we are looking for a solution with out using MQ queues. We looked at Label node and Timeout nodes.
But using Label nodes we will not be able to route a single message to multiple label nodes where each label node is independent of other.
So we are looking at the solution of using timeout nodes to route messages to multiple destinations and making sure that all the destinations are independent of each other's processing.
Please let me know if you have any others solutions for the above scenario of parallel message processing? |
why so ?? _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
raghav129 wrote: |
route a particular message to multiple destinations where all the destinations are independent of each other.
|
if your reqt is only routing of msgs independent of each other then i would say timeout nodes are not for you...
you can expect weird behavior atimes if the load is high on time out nodes.. (by high i mean millions of msgs in a day..) _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gaya3 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 Posts: 2493 Location: Boston, US
|
Propagate to terminal
or destination list helps you to resolve this issue.
Regards
Gayathri _________________ Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
Gaya3 wrote: |
Propagate to terminal
|
not independent routing.... mutually dependednt propagation is tehre
if first o/p fails then second ll not be propagated at all
Gaya3 wrote: |
destination list helps you to resolve this issue.
|
involves MQ, which raghav129 does not seem to be interested in... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
raghav129 |
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 Posts: 17
|
Many thanks Akanksha and Gayatri,
Propagation is a synchronous process, so processing of next message is done only when the process inside the downstream node is completed. So here the flows are dependent but I want my flows to indepedent. So propagate wont solve my problem.As Akshansha said propagation is a dependent process.
With regards to using Destination list I can only use it to route it to multiple queues and not multiple labels, So is there any way I can route my message to multiple labels at once and make sure each label processing is independent of each other.
We have already have a solution using MQ,but we are looking at other option as we dont want to maintain queues .
Thanks,
Raghav |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
raghav129 wrote: |
We have already have a solution using MQ,but we are looking at other option as we dont want to maintain queues .
|
the other option.....
ithat case you might want to read about try catch nodes....
If an error occurs in one destination or its route then the entire flow ll not be rolled back with try catch nodes _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can't do this, without MQ, in any current version of Broker.
The Timeout nodes use MQ under the covers...
You can attempt to do stuff with a JavaCompute node and threads... but this is going to be painful and likely break things badly.
Use MQ. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
raghav129 |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 1:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2007 Posts: 17
|
we have decided to use MQ,thnx all for your inputs.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|