Author |
Message
|
dkarr |
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:22 am Post subject: Problems using MQ java api with Java5_64 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Feb 2008 Posts: 4
|
I have a small set of MQ utilities written in Java. They've always worked fine in the past. I recently tried running them on an AIX system, using Java5_64. I was getting odd errors being unable to find "mqjbnd05". I finally tried changing to use the Java14 JVM, and then it worked perfectly fine. This will probably be ok for me, but it may be a small inconvenience, as other code I have to run is targeted to Java5. Is there anything specific I need to do to get around this problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
remember that the .so file is for bindings connection.
Did you make sure to include the 64 bit directory in the classpath? is it in the lib64 path?
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dkarr |
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Feb 2008 Posts: 4
|
I didn't see a "64 bit directory" or a "lib64 path". Note that this is MQ 5.3. Perhaps that's an important point? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
dkarr wrote: |
I didn't see a "64 bit directory" or a "lib64 path". Note that this is MQ 5.3. Perhaps that's an important point? |
- Get to a supported configuration
- You say AIX => MQ 5.3 is out of support on distributed systems. Migrate to 6.0.2.3 soonest
- Java 64 bit as a bindings connection is not supported by 5.3
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dkarr |
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Feb 2008 Posts: 4
|
Thanks for the confirmation.
It was easy enough to force the script to use the 32-bit JDK. Upgrading the MQ release isn't going to happen in the near future. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dkarr |
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Feb 2008 Posts: 4
|
To clarify one point you made, are you saying that 5.3 doesn't support the BINDINGS transport in the 64-bit JVM, and that you would have to use CLIENT mode? I'm already using CLIENT mode, but it would be useful to know whether BINDINGS mode isn't even an option. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
MQ v5.3 is not 64-bit.
Except, possibly, on some very rare platforms.
Use v6. Regardless of whether you're using 64-bit or not. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|