ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » I'm not a native of AS/400 land, PLEASE help.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 I'm not a native of AS/400 land, PLEASE help. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
friedl.otto
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:01 am    Post subject: I'm not a native of AS/400 land, PLEASE help. Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 06 Jul 2007
Posts: 116

Config

SOURCE
Code:
Qmgr:   QMGR_UK
System: AS/400
Host:   uk.host
Port:   uk.port


TARGET
Code:
Qmgr:   QMGR_ZA
System: Solaris
Host:   za.host
Port:   za.port


SOURCE to TARGET
Code:
On QMGR_UK:
DEFINE QREMOTE('UK_ZA_QRMT') RNAME('UK_ZA_QLCL') RQMNAME('QMGR_ZA') XMITQ('UK_ZA_QXMT') DEFPSIST(YES) REPLACE
DEFINE QLOCAL('UK_ZA_QXMT') INITQ('SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ') TRIGDATA('UK_ZA_CHNL') DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(10000) USAGE (XMITQ) REPLACE
DEFINE CHANNEL('UK_ZA_CHNL') CONNAME('za.host(za.port)') XMITQ('UK_ZA_QXMT') CHLTYPE(SDR) REPLACE
On QMGR_ZA:
DEFINE QLOCAL('UK_ZA_QLCL') DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(10000) REPLACE
DEFINE CHANNEL('UK_ZA_CHNL') CHLTYPE(RQSTR) CONNAME('uk.host(uk.port)') REPLACE


TARGET to SOURCE
Code:
On QMGR_ZA:
DEFINE QREMOTE('ZA_UK_QRMT') RNAME('ZA_UK_QLCL') RQMNAME('QMGR_UK') XMITQ('ZA_UK_QXMT') DEFPSIST(YES) REPLACE
DEFINE QLOCAL('ZA_UK_QXMT') INITQ('SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ') TRIGDATA('ZA_UK_CHNL') DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(10000) USAGE (XMITQ) REPLACE
DEFINE CHANNEL('ZA_UK_CHNL') CONNAME('uk.host(uk.port)') XMITQ('ZA_UK_QXMT') CHLTYPE(SDR) REPLACE
On QMGR_UK:
DEFINE QLOCAL('ZA_UK_QLCL') DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(10000) REPLACE
DEFINE CHANNEL('ZA_UK_CHNL') CHLTYPE(RQSTR) CONNAME('za.host(za.port)') REPLACE


Problem

The 'UK_ZA_CHNL' channel is 'RUNNING'.
The 'ZA_UK_CHNL' channel is 'RETRYING'.
The AS/400 developers can MQ_PUT to 'UK_ZA_QRMT' (I suspect in bindings mode).
I can telnet to uk.host (uk.port) and za.host(za.port), thus no TCP/IP or security poopy.
I cannot connect to 'QMGR_UK' with MQ Explorer. [I get: 'Queue manager name not known. (AMQ4083)']
I cannot do an MQ_PUT to 'UK_ZA_QRMT'. [I get: 'com.ibm.mq.MQException: Completion Code 2, Reason 2058']

Steps Taken

I have verified all settings on 'QMGR_UK' with the admin there.
I have triple checked all settings on 'QMGR_ZA'.
I have Googled "2058 MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR iSeries"
I have told UK admin to 'STRMQMLSR' and 'STRMQMCSVR' .
I have 'STOP' and 'RESET' both 'ZA_UK_CHNL' on 'QMGR_UK' and 'QMGR_ZA'.

Still cannot connect to 'QMGR_UK' ... HEEEEELP!
_________________
Here's an idea - don't destroy semaphores unless you're certain of what you're doing! -- Vitor


Last edited by friedl.otto on Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:00 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Why are you using sender/requester?

Does it work with sender/receiver? If so, does the firewall / network /etc allow callback?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedl.otto
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 06 Jul 2007
Posts: 116

Vitor wrote:
Why are you using sender/requester?

No particular reason, aside from the fact that I would like a RQSTR and I
haven't found any literature on the exact difference between a SDR and
a SVR.

Vitor wrote:
Does it work with sender/receiver? If so, does the firewall / network /etc allow callback?

I suspect we're working on a VPN and no firewall between us. The reasons
for this suspicion:

1. I can telnet to uk.host(uk.port).

2. The 'UK_ZA_CHNL' SDR/RQSTR is 'RUNNING'

3. The IBM MQ Explorer connection to a SVRCONN should not require callback, should it?

Also, it does not complain that it cannot find the 'QMGR_UK' when I try to
do an MQ_PUT against 'UK_ZA_QRMT' on 'QMGR_UK', it merely groans
about the QMGR's name.
_________________
Here's an idea - don't destroy semaphores unless you're certain of what you're doing! -- Vitor


Last edited by friedl.otto on Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

friedl.otto wrote:
Vitor wrote:
Why are you using sender/requester?

No particular reason, aside from the fact that I would like a RQSTR and I
haven't found any literature on the exact difference between a SDR and
a SVR.


"You would like" is an interesting if unusual design imperative. My suggestion is you try a standard channel rather than a polling one.

The difference is explained in the Intercommunication manual. I've never had much call for a that kind of set up, mostly because messaging tends to be push rather than pull, but that's just me.

Vitor wrote:
Does it work with sender/receiver? If so, does the firewall / network /etc allow callback?


I'd test the link with 2 standard channels. If they start, something in the network is interupting the callback in that direction (remember network firewalls and routing can implement different rules for different directions)


friedl.otto wrote:
3. The IBM MQ Explorer connection to a SVRCONN should not require callback, should it?


No, but it might require the AS/400 equivalent of the CAF to be installed and running. Ask the AS/400 admin if it is.

(Assuming the AS/400 has an equivalent of the CAF - I'm a z/OS person)
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
No, but it might require the AS/400 equivalent of the CAF to be installed and running. Ask the AS/400 admin if it is.

(Assuming the AS/400 has an equivalent of the CAF - I'm a z/OS person)


AS/400 doesn't have a CAF. It's the same codebase as the queue managers on Unix or Windows - except for where it deals iSeries specific things like journals and jobs.

The channel in retry state is most likely to be the issue here. Perhaps the CHINIT isn't running, perhaps the Listener isn't running. You should ask the iSeries admin for the AMQERR logs, and any FDCs.

I don't tend to like using "_" in queue manager names, but this is unlikely to be the cause of your problem. "." is much more portable across platforms.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedl.otto
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 06 Jul 2007
Posts: 116

jefflowrey wrote:
I don't tend to like using "_" in queue manager names, but this is unlikely to be the cause of your problem. "." is much more portable across platforms.

HeHeHe ... '_' makes for waaay more civilised object names in Windows,
Solaris, HP-UX, Linux and AIX! And the manual says its legit!

Nope ... the cause of this a three ring circus ... not unlike the company I
work for!

Let's just say another QMGR by a different name was running on 'uk.port',
and some sundry little issues such as a misconfigured hosts entry etc.
_________________
Here's an idea - don't destroy semaphores unless you're certain of what you're doing! -- Vitor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

friedl.otto wrote:
Nope ... the cause of this a three ring circus ... not unlike the company I work for!

Let's just say another QMGR by a different name was running on 'uk.port', and some sundry little issues such as a misconfigured hosts entry etc.


That will do it to you any time...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » I'm not a native of AS/400 land, PLEASE help.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.