ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Question about XPath

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Question about XPath « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
oli
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:26 am    Post subject: Question about XPath Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

Hi all,

I have the following behaviour in my Java Plug-in node when the Plug-in node gets a message, e.g. coming from a MQInputNode with message domain "XMLNS":

Code:
theMbMessageAssembly().getMessage().getRootElement().getFirstChild().getNextSibling().getNextSibling().getName()
returns "XMLNS" (as expected)

Code:
theMbMessageAssembly().getMessage().getRootElement().evaluateXPath("XMLNS")
returns an empty list

Code:
theMbMessageAssembly().getMessage().getRootElement().evaluateXPath("*")
returns a list with two elements "Properties" and "MQMD"

Why is the "XMLNS" element not accessible using XPath?

I'm using MB V6.1.0.1

Thanks,

Oli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Possibly because you are looking at OutputRoot instead of InputRoot?

By the way I would not go for first child next next ... You should use last child as the parser should always be the last child of Root.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
oli
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

Hi fjb_saper,

Quote:
Possibly because you are looking at OutputRoot instead of InputRoot

I don't think that this is the problem, because the getLastChild() on the root element returns the element, but the evaluateXPath() doesn't.

The MbMessageAssembly is the one the plug-in node get's in it's evaluate() method.

Any other ideas?

Thanks,

Oli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

oli wrote:
Hi fjb_saper,

Quote:
Possibly because you are looking at OutputRoot instead of InputRoot

I don't think that this is the problem, because the getLastChild() on the root element returns the element, but the evaluateXPath() doesn't.

The MbMessageAssembly is the one the plug-in node get's in it's evaluate() method.

Any other ideas?

Thanks,

Oli


Recheck your java compute node code... (theMbMessageAssembly)
I believe at some point you create the OutputRoot by assigning a new value to an object of the MbMessageAssembly class.

So just the fact that your object is of that class doesn't tell me whether you're looking at InputRoot or OutputRoot.... Your result would be consistent with looking at OutputRoot before you have set any parsers...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
oli
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

Sorry, but I cannot solve the problem.

In my opinion it cannot be a problem with InputRoot or anything else. At the same location in the code of my Java Plug-in node
Code:
theMessageAssembly.getMessage().getRootElement().evaluateXPath("XMLNS")

does not return a MbElement

whereas the call
Code:
theMessageAssembly.getMessage().getRootElement().getFirstElementByPath("XMLNS")

returns the MbElement.

What's going wrong here, any more ideas?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

Have you tried this?
Code:
getFirstElementByPath("/XMLNS")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oli
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

The
Code:
getFirstElementByPath("XMLNS")
works, but the
Code:
evaluateXPath("XMLNS")
doesn't, and that's my problem

In my opinion the 2 method calls must return the same MbElement ...

Further tips are appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimbert
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 5542
Location: Southampton

OK - I had to ask a colleague about this. Here's the reply:

Quote:
The answer begins to emerge somewhere aound your tenth reading of the XPath spec .

The brief answer is that any nametest ("XMLNS" in this example) will match any element node of that name (section 2.3). However, the "XMLNS" node is a root node, not an element node (section 5.1). Therefore it doesn't match.

By default, the ( message broker ) XPath engine defines its 'root' to be the domain syntax element for the message payload (i.e. the equivalent of message.getRootElement().getLastChild()). This allows XPath expressions to be used without having to worry about broker-specific semantics (headers/domains). It is possible to assign any definition of 'root node' to the XPath engine by using the alternate MbXPath constructor which takes an MbElement as its second parameter. If you set this to message.getRootElement(), your expression will work.

Don't compare this behaviour to the old getFirstElementByPath() method. That doesn't use XPath.

Looks as if you need to create an MbXPath object as suggested above, and use that for all queries against your message tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oli
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

Hi kimbert,

thanks a lot for your help. The solution with the MbXPath seems to work for me, although I don't understand exactly why

Oli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Question about XPath
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.