ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Access to ClusterQueue of type QALIAS in bindings mode

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Access to ClusterQueue of type QALIAS in bindings mode « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
rboos
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:17 am    Post subject: Access to ClusterQueue of type QALIAS in bindings mode Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

Hi,
I simulated a cluster environment with two MQ-Server installations on two different nodes, each has a full repository. On QMGR A i defined a local queue:
DEFINE QLOCAL('MY_REQUEST_QUEUE') REPLACE

,which is refered to by a QALIAS queue on the same node:
DEFINE QALIAS('REQUEST_QUEUE') CLUSTER('MYCLUSTER')
DEFBIND(NOTFIXED) TARGQ('MY_REQUEST_QUEUE') REPLACE

So the aliasqueue is visible on QMGR B as it is defined for the cluster.
I ensured this with mo71, which showed me the queue "REQUEST_QUEUE" in the queue list of QMGR B as cluster queue as expected.

Now I want to access QMGR B from a Java-Client on the same node as QMGR B in bindings mode. So the .bindings file looks like:
DEFINE XAQCF(MQConnectionFactory) QMANAGER(B)
DEFINE Q(RequestQueue) QUEUE(REQUEST_QUEUE) QMANAGER(B)

If I now want to access "RequestQueue" via the JMS-API, it tells me, that Queue "REQUEST_QUEUE" is unknown for QMGR B. ..Why ?
It works though if I change the bindings definition into:
DEFINE Q(RequestQueue) QUEUE(REQUEST_QUEUE) QMANAGER(A)

But this is not, what I want to do, because the client shouldn't know where the QALIAS-queue is defined.
Is there any restriction in using qalias queues that are defined as cluster queues when using them binding mode ?

Involved are
for QMGR A: MQ-Server on WindowsXP Version: 6.0.2.0
for QMGR B: MQ-Server on Solaris Version: 530.10 CSD10

Thx for your help in advance,
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

If you don't want the client to know where the QALIAS is defined, then don't specify anything for QMANAGER in Queue Destination.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

rboos wrote:
If I now want to access "RequestQueue" via the JMS-API, it tells me, that Queue "REQUEST_QUEUE" is unknown for QMGR B. ..Why ?


Read the cluster manual --- cluster 101
The queue is not hosted by qmgr B. Specifying the qmgr makes the program / JMS look for a queue hosted by the qmgr.

If you leave the qmgr field blank in your JMSAdmin definition it should work.


_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

rboos can't be faulted for coding Queue Manager B for the QMANAGER field in the queue object:

Lookie here:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=12350&highlight=
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

That's a point, Peter. The description in the documentation is valid for a QCF, but not for the same property under a Queue Destination.

There's a "Feedback" button at the bottom of most every page in the Info Center.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

Feedback submitted from this page:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/topic/com.ibm.mq.csqzaw.doc/uj10910_.htm

Quote:
In Table 2, the following description is given for the QMANAGER property:

"The name of the queue manager to connect to....."

This is correct for a QCF, but incorrect for a Queue object. On a Queue object, this paramter actually maps to the MQOD's Queue Manager object, which is the QM that hosts the queue you are sending to, NOT the connected to Queue Manager.

See this link:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=12350&highlight=

_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rboos
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

Thx for your help,
omitting the QMANAGER definition perfectly works for me.

Greets,
Rainer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Access to ClusterQueue of type QALIAS in bindings mode
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.