ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supporthow to open the MQ explorer and MQ services

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
how to open the MQ explorer and MQ services View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ustcboy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:37 am Post subject: how to open the MQ explorer and MQ services Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

I use WMQ6.0 in aix 5.3 env
please tell me how to open the MQ explorer and MQ services?
thks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

MQ Services doesn't exist in v6.

MQExplorer only runs on Windows and Linux, and is not part of the install on AIX.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25917
Location: Texas, USA

There are no services in AIX in the Windows sense.

As to the Explorer:

a) Configure it in X-Windows
b) Run it on Windows and point it at the AIX box
c) use runmqsc
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ustcboy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

thks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:57 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
a) Configure it in X-Windows


It's not installed on AIX, there's nothing to configure.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:03 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25917
Location: Texas, USA

jefflowrey wrote:
Vitor wrote:
a) Configure it in X-Windows


It's not installed on AIX, there's nothing to configure.


You learn something every day.

I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session; I shall correct the source with my customery tact and grace.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markt
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431

Quote:
I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session;


It can be done. I do it.

There's at least one prereq shared library that is shipped as part of the server product, that you wouldn't normally use (but got put into the Unix builds precisely so this could be done).

But you have to manually copy all the relevant features/plugins from a Windows or Linux installation. And find a platform-specific version of Eclipse. And maybe tweak some symlinks. And maybe set some startup parameters in a script. And create another script to allow local command execution. And it's certainly not supported ...


Last edited by markt on Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:31 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I doubt that the Windows version supports X-Windows, unless that's a capability in the base Eclipse.

Even so, X-Windows would only make sense if the MQExplorer code was executing on the AIX machine, and forwarding the display to the Windows machine.

Which is only possible if the code is resident on the AIX machine... which it isn't, because it's not supported.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

markt wrote:
Quote:
I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session;


It can be done. I do it.

But you have to manually copy all the relevant features/plugins from a Windows or Linux installation. And find a platform-specific version of Eclipse. And maybe tweak some symlinks. And maybe set some startup parameters in a script. And it's certainly not supported ...




Please tell me how ms0s works under this pathological setup... if you get a chance...
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markt
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:41 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 431

Quote:
Please tell me how ms0s works under this pathological setup


Can't do that I'm afraid. MS0S prereqs a plugin that is not available in the version of the Explorer that I'm running on AIX. That's the danger of using internal services.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25917
Location: Texas, USA

markt wrote:
Quote:
I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session;


It can be done. I do it.



I'm sorry I corrected my source quite so hard now!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
markt wrote:
Quote:
I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session;


It can be done. I do it.



I'm sorry I corrected my source quite so hard now!


Hopefully you didn't damage the trout beyond any re-use.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25917
Location: Texas, USA

jefflowrey wrote:
Vitor wrote:
markt wrote:
Quote:
I was told that you could run the Windows one under an X-Windows session;


It can be done. I do it.



I'm sorry I corrected my source quite so hard now!


Hopefully you didn't damage the trout beyond any re-use.


The trout's a little worse for wear, but it was a liberating experience. I may bulk order next time.

(With apologies to any readers going "Trout? Trout?". It would take too long to explain - The Search Button is your Friend)
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ustcboy
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

Using the WebSphere MQ Explorer

The WebSphere MQ Explorer is available on Windows and WebSphere MQ for Linux (x86 platform) systems only.

You can use the WebSphere MQ Explorer to perform the operations described in this chapter, except for a preemptive shutdown.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
System Administration Guide----
Welcome to the IBM WebSphere(R) MQ information center

thks all help me friends
thks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vzboy
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 21 Jul 2005
Posts: 14

If you can get a MQ explorer for windows, install it in your desktop & connect to your AIX qmgr as remote qmgr administration. I always used to connect to my QMGRS in UNIX env's using this method.... Hope this helps...
_________________
Thanks

vzboy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supporthow to open the MQ explorer and MQ services
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.