Author |
Message
|
LeePalmer |
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:04 am Post subject: Default Queue Manager |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2007 Posts: 4
|
We are using MQseries on the iSeries in a developer environment. We have one queue manager and many queues and channels pointing at different servers. One of the developers has just created a new queue manager and accidently took the option to set as default quenue manager.
Is there a way to make our original queue manger the default again?
Thanks in advance,
Lee Palmer. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It should be a matter of editing mqs.ini... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
LeePalmer |
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2007 Posts: 4
|
MQ does not have a .ini on the iSeries, does anybody know what the equivilant file would be? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
That's not what the iSeries System Administration Guide says.
 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
LeePalmer |
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2007 Posts: 4
|
Cheers Jeff that worked fine, you truley are a Poobah. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:31 am Post subject: Re: Default Queue Manager |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
LeePalmer wrote: |
We are using MQseries on the iSeries in a developer environment. |
Hi,
On a totally different topic, do you have any docs for iSeries (OS400) that fall into the category of 'C programming on iSeries (OS400) for Dummies'.
I've programmed C on DOS, OS/2, Windows, Linux, Unix and z/OS (MVS) but I have never ever touched an iSeries (OS400) box.
IBM is pushing me to port some code to the iSeries but I don't have the foggiest idea where to start.
So, any docs, tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
LeePalmer |
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2007 Posts: 4
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Hi,
Thanks but not enough 'dummy' info. I'm looking for '101 iSeries' info.
i.e. On the z/OS (mainframe):
- To edit a file you type '2' or '=2'
- To get a list of datasets you type '3.4' or '=3.4'
- To see your running jobs (programs) you go to SDSF (i.e. '13.14' or '=13.14' on some systems)
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:31 pm Post subject: Re: Default Queue Manager |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
RogerLacroix wrote: |
IBM is pushing me to port some code to the iSeries but I don't have the foggiest idea where to start. |
interesting... since IBM is ignoring iSeries when it comes to TAMBI ...  _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:21 am Post subject: Re: Default Queue Manager |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Michael Dag wrote: |
interesting... since IBM is ignoring iSeries when it comes to TAMBI ...  |
Hi,
I can't comment on TAMBI but there are software marketing groups at IBM, who's job it is to get developers / vendors / ISVs to port their products to the various IBM platforms.
When the POWER 5 was launched, the AIX, iSeries and Linux marketing groups all contacted me and pushed / suggested that I port my products to those OSes. I've done 2 now there asking about the third OS (iSeries).
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
Hey Roger,
For iSeries you will need to create a PF (physical file) and then members within (like a PDS on z/OS). You can then use PDM (AS/400 Programming Development Manager) to edit the member. The command is STRPDM.
There is a C compiler available for iSeries (you may not have it installed). I have used it to edit and recompile MS03 - saveqmgr.
Also, as for your other questions - there isn't really a 3.4 type of interface. No long DS names. Just a lot of libraries with files within. So you can do a WRKLIB to get a list of libraries, and then a 5 against that lib to see files within.
As for SDSF, you want WRKSBS for subsystems and WRKACTJOB to show running processes within the subsystem.
The iSeries is a weird beast but once you get used to it is it quite nice to use. Try WRK* or DSP* from the command line for a list of available commands. If you have MQ installed try WRKMQM*, etc. If you haven't yet installed it, you'll see it's a bit weird. Binaries and logs (called journals on iSeries) reside in the regular filesystem while all of the qmgr data is in the IFS (Integrated File system I think it is), which is a lot like HFS/USS. There's even a shell interface called qsh.
Hope that helps as a start - if you have any other questions, let me know. I'm no iSeries expert, but have just enough knowledge to be dangerous - and to do my job
Cheers
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Quote: |
Toronto_MQ : who knows iSeries. |
Oh, oh, oh...
How would you like to give me a private tutoring session?
We could meet at TH for a coffee or two, if you know of one in Toronto that has a wireless access that is?
Name your (reasonable) price or barter (hardware toys or software licenses).
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Toronto_MQ wrote: |
There is a C compiler available for iSeries (you may not have it installed). I have used it to edit and recompile MS03 - saveqmgr. |
This was a suggestion I had forgotten to make... to look at MS03 and it's makefiles and instructions for building on iSeries... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|