Author |
Message
|
jbur |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:47 am Post subject: Finding the qmgr name |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 11
|
My apologies if this is something simple to figure out, but I'm a bit of a MQ noob.
My question is, how can I figure out the name of a qmgr without having access to the host machine the qmgr runs on?
We have many server admins and it can be hard to track down who owns what, just to have them log in and list the qmgrs. I'm trying to do documentation and it would be much simpler if I could somehow just get the info over the network.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
You can't do anything if you don't have any access to the server.
Some monitoring programs have an agent that runs on a server that will discover queue managers installed thereon but you would still need access to the server in order to obtain access to the agent. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbur |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 11
|
kevinf2349 wrote: |
You can't do anything if you don't have any access to the server. |
I don't really need to "do" anything, I just want to get some info from the server. The port and hostname are easy to get, but the qmgr name isn't easy to figure out with standard discovery tools. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It's not hard to write a simple application that does "dis qmgr" in PCF messages. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
dspmqm control command displays the name and status of queue managers on the platform where you issue the command. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
dspmqm control command displays the name and status of queue managers on the platform where you issue the command. |
I'm sure you meant dspmq.
And I'm sure you didn't notice that the problem was having to find someone to log onto the machine in the first place. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
Yes, thanks.
And I didn't take the original post literally. One can't determine what version of anything without access to the box - short of asking someone. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I didn't take it literally, either, at least in terms of "having no access".
I did take it as I figured it was MEANT to be taken - in terms of not having to open a command prompt on the machine.
So a simple PCF program - probably in Java to take advantage of the fact that the remote qmgrs are likely not properly secured - that does "dis qmgr()" will return the qmgr name of whatever qmgr is on that host and port.
Without needing to LOG ONTO the box, but merely "access" it. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbur |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 11
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
So a simple PCF program - probably in Java to take advantage of the fact that the remote qmgrs are likely not properly secured - that does "dis qmgr()" will return the qmgr name of whatever qmgr is on that host and port.
Without needing to LOG ONTO the box, but merely "access" it. |
Thanks for all the replies. If anyone has time to write the PCF program mentioned, please post it here!
In the meantime, I figured out an alternate method.
1. Run a network protocol analyzer and start capturing.
2. Use MQ Explorer to connect the following way
qmgr = _
port number = 1414
hostname = whatever
I always use an underscore for the qmgr, but maybe putting any garbage in the qmgr field will work.
3. Look at the captured packets and you'll see that the server sends back the correct qmgr name for the port and hostname you chose.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I'm sure nobody wants to write a program for you.
The MS0B support pack probably has an example.
The Perl module for MQSeries can probably do it for you in about three lines of code.
Also, I hope your method doesn't cause errors to be generated on the qmgr in question.  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbur |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 11
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
I'm sure nobody wants to write a program for you. |
I'm not good at coding, so I thought it was worth a try.
I hope it does generate errors when I try to connect with a phony qmgr name, because it may alert you that someone is trying to hack your environment. I just hope it doesn't freeze the qmgr and cause a dump. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
This thread is alnost unbelievable. is it a hoax?
You are an MQ system admin, and you do not know the IP addresses of the servers, or the names of the qmgrs on them!
You also do not know the names of other system admins who could give you this information!
And now you propose to write a program to hack into ports on these servers!
What is the name of the cowboy company you work for?
Does it have managers, executives and shareholders?
Do they know the chaos that passes for system organisation in their company? _________________ MQSeries.net helps those who help themselves.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
...without having access to the host machine the qmgr runs on?
I guess he actually does have access to the host machine after all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbur |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jun 2007 Posts: 11
|
Nigelg wrote: |
This thread is alnost unbelievable. is it a hoax?
You are an MQ system admin, and you do not know the IP addresses of the servers, or the names of the qmgrs on them!
You also do not know the names of other system admins who could give you this information!
And now you propose to write a program to hack into ports on these servers!
What is the name of the cowboy company you work for?
Does it have managers, executives and shareholders?
Do they know the chaos that passes for system organisation in their company? |
Whoah! Easy Nigel! Who said I was an MQ System Admin? I'm just using a sandbox for these tests at the moment, but I appreciate your concern.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
jbur wrote: |
Whoah! Easy Nigel! Who said I was an MQ System Admin? I'm just using a sandbox for these tests at the moment, but I appreciate your concern.  |
If you're not an MQ Admin, you likely have no business knowing the names of the qmgrs.
Regardless, I do not know of a single enterprise large enough to have "lots of systems admins" that would approve of anyone running what amounts to an enterprise wide portscan.
Have you considered asking your boss what the proper way for you to document this is? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|