Author |
Message
|
harshvajra |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:22 am Post subject: use of replytoq field in mqoutput node. |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 46 Location: India
|
Hello experts,
When going through mqoutput node properties, I did not find any difference between using replytoq field of request properties and queue of basic properties. can anyone give me clear information apart from the documentation given. _________________ Failure is not a defeat,it's just a delay, Walk TALL |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
If you set the MQOutput node to ReplyTo queue, it will automatically put the message to the details specified in the MQMD. If it's set to queue, it puts it to the queue specified in the node. If it's set to distribution list, it puts the message to the details set in the distribution list.
I think the documentation lays that out quite clearly.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbanoop |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 401 Location: SC
|
setting on
MQOutput node = static
MQMD (in ESQL) = dynamic |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jbanoop wrote: |
setting on
MQOutput node = static
MQMD (in ESQL) = dynamic |
MQMD does not have to be set in the ESQL, typically set by the putting application.
You knew that, just underlining it.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harshvajra |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 46 Location: India
|
mr vitor,
you mean to say that there is no difference. _________________ Failure is not a defeat,it's just a delay, Walk TALL |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
They're entirely different. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
harshvajra wrote: |
mr vitor,
you mean to say that there is no difference. |
No, I mean (or meant) to say that the node behaves in the 3 modes I described, obtaining the target details from the places I listed.
If you're asking "Is there a difference between using the replyto mode and queue where the queue is the same name?", then you're right - there is no difference. As jbanoop correctly points out, the queue cannot be varied dynamically where replyto can. It depends what you want it to do.
If that's not what you're asking, please rephrase the question!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
harshvajra |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 46 Location: India
|
Thankyou Mr. Vitor.
All this while i have been trying working with this node.
As understood we cannot set the queueName dynamically when Destination mode is queueName, but when it's set to ReplytoQueue we can set queue's dynamically.(setting MQMD).
Thanku ones again. _________________ Failure is not a defeat,it's just a delay, Walk TALL |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
But don't use ReplyToQueue unless you're sending a REPLY.
Use DestinationList instead. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
Mr Jeoff,
We are setting the replytoqueue property dynamically in a
compute node using statement outputroot.mqmd.replytoq=newqname.
but what is the use of replytoq and replytoqmanager fields in the request properties of output node when we are setting these properties dynamically. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbanoop |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 401 Location: SC
|
You CAN set the destination queue name dynamically using the DestinationList (as Jeff Mentioned)
eg: OutputLocalEnvironment.Destination.MQ.DestinationData.queueName='';
You can also set the Reply To Queue name dynamically
OutputRoot.MQMD.ReplyToQ='';
both can be set statically as you would already know on the MQOutput node.
Anoop |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
elvis_gn |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 1905 Location: Dubai
|
Hi rock,
If you set the replyToQ in the Output Node, then the message sent out would be a request, and the receiver who gets that message will know where to reply using the ReplyToQ property in the header....
Regards. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
Mr jbanoop,
I tried working with the code given by you and it is not working and giving an exception that failed to open the queue(I did not specify any queue name in the basic properties of mqoutput node). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrgate |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 28 Feb 2007 Posts: 141 Location: India
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
But don't use ReplyToQueue unless you're sending a REPLY.
Use DestinationList instead. |
Mr Jeoff,
can you specify indepth. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
rock wrote: |
jefflowrey wrote: |
But don't use ReplyToQueue unless you're sending a REPLY.
Use DestinationList instead. |
Mr Jeoff,
can you specify indepth. |
This is specified in depth in the documentation. Try reading it.
But -
If you use replyto the way you are, the node will additionally change the message to reply. If you want to dynamically set a target queue name, use the 3rd MQOutput node property DestinationList rather than queue or replytoq.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|