ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Does a CICS program have to connect to the queue managers?

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Does a CICS program have to connect to the queue managers? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject: Does a CICS program have to connect to the queue managers? Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

Hi,
Does a CICS program have to connect to the corresponding queue manager before issuing calls? I read somewhere that MQ Connect doesnt need to be performed in CICS. If this is the case, then how does the connection get setup. Can someone clarify this for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

From the MQCONN entry of the Application Programming Reference:

Quote:
On z/OS, the queue managers to which it is possible to connect are determined by the environment:
For CICS, you can use only the queue manager to which the CICS system is connected. The QMgrName parameter must still be specified, but its value is ignored; blanks are recommended.

_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bob_buxton
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 23 Aug 2001
Posts: 266
Location: England

And from the description of the other MQ API calls:
Quote:

Hconn (MQHCONN) - input

Connection handle.

This handle represents the connection to the queue manager. The value of Hconn was returned by a previous MQCONN or MQCONNX call.

On z/OS for CICS applications, and on OS/400 for applications running in compatibility mode, the MQCONN call can be omitted, and the following value specified for Hconn:

MQHC_DEF_HCONN
Default connection handle.

_________________
Bob Buxton
Ex-Websphere MQ Development
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

Vitor, i do agree that the program can connect to only the queue managers configured for that CICS region. But we do have an MQ program that is called to perform OPEN/PUT/PUT1/CLOSE commands. This program doesnt connect to the queue manager. I was curious about how this program would connect to the corresponding queue manager for a queue and if the connection dropped, how it would recognise the same.
Thanks,
morf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

morfius9 wrote:
Vitor, i do agree that the program can connect to only the queue managers configured for that CICS region.


I was unaware you could connect more than 1 queue manager to a CICS region....
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

No. we have a cluster of queue managers here,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

bOB,
My program is not detecting the condition when a queue manager goes down and then comes back up coz this is a different instance that comes up and the program returns code 2203. So in this case should the program be restarted or the connection handle be reset or something so that we can detect the new queue manager that has been started.
Thanks, morf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

morfius9 wrote:
No. we have a cluster of queue managers here,


There's a difference between a cluster of queue managers and multiple CICS connections. Your application still only connects to a single queue manager, even if that queue manager participates in a cluster.

I'm not saying you can't associate more than one queue manager with a CICS system, simply that I thought it was a one-to-one mappping, hence the lack of ability to pick one. I could be wrong, and look to people with more CICS knowledge to comment.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bob_buxton
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 23 Aug 2001
Posts: 266
Location: England

Your CICS region is connected to a specific queue manager specified in the CICS system initialization parameters or via the CKQC transaction.

The CICS region and CICS transcations cannot connect to an arbitrary member of a cluster or a queue sharing group.
_________________
Bob Buxton
Ex-Websphere MQ Development
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

morfius9 wrote:
My program is not detecting the condition when a queue manager goes down and then comes back up coz this is a different instance that comes up and the program returns code 2203.


Sounds like you don't have fail on quiecsing set. You application should terminate when it detects that the queue manager is trying to come down. It should certainly terminates (with an embarassed shrug) if it gets a 2203.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bob_buxton
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 23 Aug 2001
Posts: 266
Location: England

The MQ CICS adapter automatically monitors the connection between CICS and MQ and restarts it when needed.

If a CICS transaction receives a reason code that indicates the connection is broken (e.g. MQRC_CONNECTION_BROKEN) or is about to go (e.g. MQRC_Q_QMGR_QUIESCING) it should terminate and then use triggering to restart the application when the connection is restored.
_________________
Bob Buxton
Ex-Websphere MQ Development
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

bob_buxton wrote:
Your CICS region is connected to a specific queue manager specified in the CICS system initialization parameters or via the CKQC transaction.

The CICS region and CICS transcations cannot connect to an arbitrary member of a cluster or a queue sharing group.


Thanks!

(It's been a while, and I went from "CICS connection is absolutely fixed, absolutely certainly" to "Erm....." in about 2 minutes... )
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

So if the program restarts, will it be able to break out of the connection to the old queue manager and be afresh and set to check the status of the messages sent to the new instance of the queue manager when it comes up? And what if the queue manager is not up when the program restarts itself and tries to put another message?
-MorF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

morfius9 wrote:
So if the program restarts, will it be able to break out of the connection to the old queue manager


It will be unable to see the old, out of scope, connection because this will be the new, triggered (or otherwise restarted) instance of the program.

morfius9 wrote:
And what if the queue manager is not up when the program restarts itself and tries to put another message?


Then your application should detect the reason code and respond appropriately, like it should to the 2203.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.


Last edited by Vitor on Tue May 29, 2007 2:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morfius9
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 13

You guys have been awesome...Thanks a lot.. Ill use this feedback to modify the existing design...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Does a CICS program have to connect to the queue managers?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.