ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Solved: Multiple mqsideploy commands in a batch file

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Solved: Multiple mqsideploy commands in a batch file « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
whytec
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 7:55 pm    Post subject: Solved: Multiple mqsideploy commands in a batch file Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Brisbane Australia

Hi All,

I have a need to do multiple deploys in a batch configuration. I have a batch file that contains consecutive calls to the mqsideploy command for each .bar file that I have. All .bar files are being deployed to the same broker. I am using WBIMB5.

The first mqsideploy works ok but the next mqsideploy results in the following error:

Quote:
"An attempt was made to deploy configuration data to one or more brokers, but the Configuration Manager is already deploying to broker MyBroker. You can not deploy to a set of brokers if there is an earlier deploy outstanding to any broker in the set. The deploy operation was not performed."


The contents of my batch file are as follows:

Code:
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR1.bar -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR2.bar -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR3.bar -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR4.bar -connection mqsideploy.config


I know this is due to the same problem in the Toolkit when you try and deploy before receiving a response in the Toolkit's Event Log Editor. My question is, how can I get this to work without having to resort to adding pause commands between each deploy? I need this to be an automatic process, so the pause statements are not an option.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by whytec on Wed May 09, 2007 9:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mensch
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 166

-c option in mqsideploy command

Quote:
'-c' tells the Configuration Manager to stop waiting for broker responses to currently outstanding deploy requests, across the domain or on the specified broker. Use this flag with caution; any subsequent responses to cancelled deploys will be ignored by the Configuration Manager, meaning that the status reported by the Configuration Manager may be incorrect.

_________________
Thanks and Regards ,
Mensch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whytec
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Brisbane Australia

It Worked!

The command in WBIMB5 is -cancel, and it worked perfectly

Just so everyone else knows, the following code before each call to mqsideploy is what did the trick.

Code:
call mqsideploy -cancel -connection mqsideploy.config


Thankyou very much Mensch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mensch
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 166

m glad that you got it worked
Please mark the topic as solved
_________________
Thanks and Regards ,
Mensch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqmatt
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 1213
Location: Hursley, UK

NO NO NO!! This will not work!!!
The cancel option will simply cause the Config Manager to stop waiting for responses to a deployment request and to ignore any subsequent responses to that request. So while using this option will cause deployment to work for the broker, you will then have a timing window that could cause the Config Manager to go out of sync with the broker. This means that the Config Manager (and hence the toolkit) will not correctly report what you have deployed.

Being able to queue up multiple deployment requests though mqsideploy was only added in Message Broker V6. In Message Broker V5, you should put suitable pauses between the deploy requests in the batch file... Or migrate to v6.

-Matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Yeah.

NEVER cancel a deploy, unless you *absolutely* have to AND you know that the deploy is NOT going to complete - like the broker in question has been deleted.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mensch
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 166

Quote:
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 2:46 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NO NO NO!! This will not work!!!
The cancel option will simply cause the Config Manager to stop waiting for responses to a deployment request and to ignore any subsequent responses to that request. So while using this option will cause deployment to work for the broker, you will then have a timing window that could cause the Config Manager to go out of sync with the broker. This means that the Config Manager (and hence the toolkit) will not correctly report what you have deployed.

Being able to queue up multiple deployment requests though mqsideploy was only added in Message Broker V6. In Message Broker V5, you should put suitable pauses between the deploy requests in the batch file... Or migrate to v6.

-Matt


Hi Matt,

thanks a lot ..You are right..I had no idea about this
_________________
Thanks and Regards ,
Mensch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whytec
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Brisbane Australia

Thanks for the response guys. Looks like I'm stuck with adding in pauses then. At least I now have some extra ammunition for my crusade to migrate to WMB6 as soon as possible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whytec
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Location: Brisbane Australia

After a bit more experimentation I've found that using the -w parameter with a suitably large amount of time, everything works exactly as I wanted.

Code:
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR1.bar -w 600 -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR2.bar -w 600 -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR3.bar -w 600 -connection mqsideploy.config
call mqsideploy -b MyBroker -e MyEG -bar MyBAR4.bar -w 600 -connection mqsideploy.config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Solved: Multiple mqsideploy commands in a batch file
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.