Author |
Message
|
pandu |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:44 pm Post subject: max no of environment variables can a message flow handles |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 26 Jan 2007 Posts: 8
|
Hi all,
In Compute Node I am extracting values from Database using SELECT query and storing in Environment.variables.temp[]. then creating XML msg finally sending to output queue.
what happens if the no. of records from database are more.
How can I know the max no of temp[] values it can hold.
My flow is working fine for 2000 records.
In future we are expecting in Millions.
Thanks in Advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
The logical message tree has no fixed bounds for the number of child nodes of a particular node.
Broker will run out of memory at some point, though, trying to create and process lots of child nodes.
I am not making any specifications as to what lots means, as I don't know.
You should read the Performance Support Packs, and be prepared to take measures to increase the broker EG heap size. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
May I ask why you even need to use the Envrionment at all as a target for the SELECT? Many selects (including transformations) can be performed directly into the Output XML message directly.
Regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
From a memory point of view, Selecting into Environment may be more efficient over the rest of the flow than Selecting into the Message Tree that needs to be repeatedly copied at each node...
Particularly for a select that may return millions of results.
Individually, within a single node, there may be no difference between the two.
Except, perhaps, it may be more efficient to create child nodes under Environment with no parser attached than under a message tree that has a parser attached. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
mgk,
are there limits on the environment variables?
apparently 2000 records work... presumably 10000 aswell
just wondering as the question was asked and you are so close to the fire...  _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Michael Dag wrote: |
mgk,
are there limits on the environment variables?
apparently 2000 records work... presumably 10000 aswell
just wondering as the question was asked and you are so close to the fire...  |
In my opinion...
I think that there are no limits on the environment variables.
Message tree is stored in memory so everything depends on your memory.
If message tree reach max memory you will get out of memory exception
Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pandu |
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:39 am Post subject: Thank you all |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 26 Jan 2007 Posts: 8
|
Thank you for your valuble suggestions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|