ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » sending messages to multiple queues at the same time

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 sending messages to multiple queues at the same time « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
monkey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: sending messages to multiple queues at the same time Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London

I need to set something up to allow messages to be delivered to 2 different locations at once.
Oracle AQ is putting messages on a queue, and these are then delivered onto another queue in a cluster.
We need the message to be delivered to another queue in addition to the existing one - which will exist on a separate queue manager outside the current cluster.
We need to do this without changing Oracle AQ, so it needs to all be done internally to MQ.

I thought using a namelist would be a good idea - but I have no idea how to actually direct the messages at the namelist so to speak.

There must be something obvious that I'm missing - but a day of trawling through the manuals has proved fuitless!

Any suggestions anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

U can install the miiroq exit on the QM (do a search for mirrorq here).

You can write code that opens a namelist, gets all the names, and uses it to open and put to each queue in the list, or to build, open and put to a MQ distribution list. (look in the App. Programming Guide for these last 2 options).
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London

Thanks, I'll check out mirrorq !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London

Hmm, mirorq only seems to work for queues that messages are sitting on.
My scenario is that I need to capture them as they flow through the system, they don't remain on our system, so before they flow straight out I need them to go to a second queu where they will sit and we can browse them at our leisure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

MirrorQ works on qremotes as well as qlocals, as far as I know - at least the API exit form. API Exits get called when *anything*, including MCAs, make an MQ API call.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London

jefflowrey wrote:
MirrorQ works on qremotes as well as qlocals, as far as I know - at least the API exit form. API Exits get called when *anything*, including MCAs, make an MQ API call.


looks like I'll have to take a deeper look then! Thanks guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clindsey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 12 Jul 2002
Posts: 586
Location: Dallas, Tx

Quote:

Hmm, mirorq only seems to work for queues that messages are sitting on.
My scenario is that I need to capture them as they flow through the system, they don't remain on our system, so before they flow straight out I need them to go to a second queu where they will sit and we can browse them at our leisure.


mirrorq copies the message to a second queue at the time it is put to the original queue. The second (or more) queue(s) can be local or remote.

Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkey
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: Sorted Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Location: London

Got mirrorq working nicely.
It does exactly what I wanted.

Cheers guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wbimb
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 144

hey monkey

i downloaded the mirrorq on windows....then i followed the steps

i have done all the steps it says

1. Copy the API Exit to <MQMTOP>\exits */
Copy mirrorq.dll to <MQMTOP>\exits */
where <MQMTOP> is the drive and path where WebSphere */
/* MQSeries is installed. */
/* */
/* 2. Create a Namelist */
/* From the MQExplorer click on the + sign next to the */
/* Queue Manager name. */
/* Click on the + sign next to the Advanced tab to expand */
/* the list. */
/* Right click on Namelist and select New and Namelist. */
/* Enter a name, for example mirrorq. */
/* NOTE: Although a name up to 48 characters is allowed, */
/* only 32 characters is allowed to configure this name */
/* in the exitdata field so restrict the name to 32 */
/* characters. */
/* In the names field, enter the source Queue to be */
/* copied, followed by the target Queue to copy messages */
/* to followed by the Queue Manager name of the target */
/* Queue. The Queue Manager name is required even if it */
/* is the local Queue Manager. If there is a second Queue */
/* to be mirrored, then enter the next source queue, target */
/* Queue, target Queue Manager. For example: */
/* TEST_IN,TEST_IN_COPY,VENUS.QMGR,TEST_OUT, */
/* TEST_OUT_COPY,PLUTO.QMGR */
/* Click OK to save the new Namelist. */
/* */
/* 3. Configue the API EXIT */
/* From WebSphere MQ Services, right click on the Queue */
/* Manager and then click on the Exits tab. */
/* Near the bottom, click on the Configure button in the */
/* API Exit section. */
/* Click on the Add button. */
/* Enter a name for the API Exit such as MirrorQ. */
/* Enter EntryPoint in the Function field. */
/* Enter the full path to mirrorq.dll in the Module field */
/* for example: c:\MQSeries\exits\mirrorq.dll or */
/* click the Browse button to locate mirrorq.dll. */
/* Click the window next to Data to enable the data field */
/* and enter the name of the Namelist created in step 2. */
/* If you have other API Exits configured, select a */
/* Sequence Number for this exit that is higher if you */
/* want it called following the other exit(s) or lower if */
/* you want it call prior to the other exit(s). Otherwise, */
/* leave the default Sequence Number. */
/* Click OK to save the exit definition and OK to exit */
/* the Queue Manager properties. */
/* */
/* */
/* 4. Stop / Start the Queue Manager */
/* To activitate the API Exit, stop and restart the */
/* Queue Manager. */
/* */
/* */
/* 5. Test the API Exit */
/* From MQSeries Explorer, click the + next to the Queue */
/* Manager and click Queues. */
/* Right click on one of the Queues to be mirrored and */
/* click on Put Test Message. */
/* Enter a string of text. */
/* Click OK to put the message.

when i put a message in the local q it doesnt go to other local q's

can someone help me


Last edited by wbimb on Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Monkey hasn't been vry active lately...
what exactly have you tried and what doesn't work ?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
wbimb
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 144

ohhhh ok i will tell wht i tried

MQ5.3 on windows

I have a QMgr QM1
I created 2 local q on it Q1 and Q2

then i downloaded the mirrorq for windows

then as the mirrorq...i did following things

i copied the mirrorq.dll in the path <mqseries_installation_path>\exists

created a namelist with the name mirrorq on QMgr QM1 with names as Q1,Q2

Then went to MQSeries Services right click on the Queue Manager (QM1) and then click on the Exits tab. Then clicked configure and then ADD

Entered a name for the API Exit such as MirrorQ.
Entered EntryPoint in the Function field.
Enter the full path to mirrorq.dll <mqseries_installation_path>\exists\mirrorq.dll

in the data field entered the namelist name
and then clicked apply and OK

Then restarted the QMgr and then put the message on the Q1 local Q....

ALl these steps were mentioned the mirrorq....but it didnt work.....HAVE I MISSED ANYTHING TO DO....THEN PLEASE HELP ME
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

wbimb wrote:
....but it didnt work.....HAVE I MISSED ANYTHING TO DO....THEN PLEASE HELP ME


Apparently, you haven't done any troubleshooting.

How do you know it doesn't work? Are there errors somewhere? What are they? Are the messages that should be "mirrored" not being mirrored?

Also, are you sure you spelled 'exits' right in your actual configuration?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wbimb
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 144

i dont know whether there are any errors...i dont know where should i look for error

I didnt get wht u mean by ths

"Also, are you sure you spelled 'exits' right in your actual configuration"

I have put mirrorq.dll in the installation path od MQSeries under folder exists...

Please help me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

If you don't know where to look for errors, then you shouldn't be trying to configure an Exit.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

Quote:
I didnt get wht u mean by ths

"Also, are you sure you spelled 'exits' right in your actual configuration"


Well I hate to second guess Jeff, but I believe he is aluding to this:

Quote:
i copied the mirrorq.dll in the path <mqseries_installation_path>\
exists


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » sending messages to multiple queues at the same time
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.