|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
WMQ Explorer v6 channels not being closed |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:38 am Post subject: WMQ Explorer v6 channels not being closed |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
All,
A client reported the following to me as a bug with my security exit but it is reproducible without the security exit.
1) Start WMQ Explorer v6
2) Connect to a remote queue manager (i.e. client mode)
3) On the remote server with the QMgr do:
Code: |
netstat -an | grep <port#> |
And you should see 1 connection from your PC
4) Open a queue to Browse the data
5) On the remote server with the QMgr do:
Code: |
netstat -an | grep <port#> |
And you should see 2 connections from your PC
6) Now click the Refresh button (lower-right hand corner) say 10 times
7) On the remote server with the QMgr do:
Code: |
netstat -an | grep <port#> |
And you should see 12 connections from your PC
8 ) Now click the Refresh button (lower-right hand corner) say 20 times
9) On the remote server with the QMgr do:
Code: |
netstat -an | grep <port#> |
And you should see 32 connections from your PC
Keep on clicking the Refresh button and you will max out the number of connections for the QMgr.
First off, what in the world was the developer thinking reconnecting each time you click the refresh button?
Secondly, the Browse window is modal - meaning you CANNOT go back to the main Eclipse window and open another window. Therefore, why didn't the developer simple use the connection handle that was already connected?
If you don't know what modal is see:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Windows_Programming/Dialog_Boxes
Luckily, when you close the Browse window, it disconnects all outstanding connections (I don't know if the developer did it or Java Garbage Collector did it). But this could cause real problems if you get a few people viewing various queues of the same QMgr.
Can someone else try it to confirm it for me?
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
I don't see this behaviour. Platform is Solaris 8 running MQ 6.0.2.0 with a few iFixes applied.
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|