ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » C# - connect using channel definition table?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 C# - connect using channel definition table? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
dozedoff
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: C# - connect using channel definition table? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

I wrote a client app in C# that connects to the mq server using the MQEnvironment class following the examples in the docs.

However, it's unclear to me whether my program can connect using the channel definition table as well. Can someone indicate to me whether this is possible or not, and if so, point me to an example of how this is done?

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

The V6 Java client allows you to use channel tables, but I don't see anything in the .NET doc to indicate you can do this from c# .... whats the requirement?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
dozedoff
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the info. I saw that about the Java client also, so I thought maybe they had it in C# too.

Our program will be running on different client locales, and more importantly the mq connection info will be different for each client. If possible, a channel definition table might be easier to use (from the perspective of the application setup) than to manually enter the connection info for each client, not that it's big a deal either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You might be able to use the plain C API instead of using the .NET API.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JasonE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Hursley

Yes - you can set NMQ_MQ_LIB to mqic32.dll, and connect to qmgr QM and as long as MQCHLLIB/MQCHLTAB are set you will be using them the same as amqsputc would be.

I think (but not100% sure) the managed option also supports it (in 6.0.2.0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » C# - connect using channel definition table?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.