Author |
Message
|
Chiqid |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:24 am Post subject: Mainframe API to Sun Solaris MQ |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 14
|
Is it possible to write an API for CICS programs on VSE 2.7 that connects to an MQ Queue running on Sun Solaris ? Right now, we have a script that runs on the Sun box, formats the data then we do an FTP to the mainframe to process the MQ data. What I am after is an API that will just go get what is in the queue without having to do the FTP. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can't create an outgoing MQ client connection from the mainframe.
You can write a C program to run on Solaris that creates an MQ client connection TO the mainframe.
You can write a C program to run on Solaris that creates an MQ connection to a local queue manager and sends the data over a normal MQ channel.
You probably want to rethink the business process if you are going to change from sending a FILE to sending an MQ Message. It may be that the File has many records, and it is better to only put one record in an MQ message. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chiqid |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 14
|
Not quite sure what you mean with the last statement. The MQ message is one message when we do the MQGet, but....we then have to reformat it to those 'records'. Were you trying to tell me that regardless of using an API or not,,,,,then we would still have to reformat the message? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
What I believe jefflowrey is getting at is the commonly held principle that if you have a file containing n records, it's better practice to transmit them as n separate MQ messages, rather than reformat them into a single message, send that and then split it back out.
Apologies if I've misrepresented Jeff's views  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Nope, that's it.
If you have a file that has 10,000 records in it, and you are currently FTPing the file all at once, when you transfer the same data over MQ you should send 10,000 messages instead of one message. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chiqid |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 14
|
We are not transmitting the data over MQ once we convert it to records. We convert it to records for the mainframe to get the correct record size for the program to run on the mainframe that processes the data after we do the MQget.
What we wanted to do was to pull the data directly from the MQ channel to the mainframe and process. I would imagine we would still need to put it in the correct format somewhere along the lines. I guess what I'm really asking for is .. is there a better method than what we are currently doing to get this data from the Sun box to the mainframe for processing ---other than a reformat and an FTP. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can't create a client connection FROM the mainframe.
You can write an MQ program that will send the data TO the mainframe.
You should not write an MQ program to send a large message, when you can write an MQ program to send more smaller messages.
If you know that your data is logically broken up into 'records', it makes sense to break your data up into smaller messages using that same logical break.
This is a better way than sending data using FTP - in my opinion. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Chiqid wrote: |
I guess what I'm really asking for is .. is there a better method than what we are currently doing to get this data from the Sun box to the mainframe for processing ---other than a reformat and an FTP. |
Yes Totally. Write an MQ program on the MF (we suspect you have MQ on the MF) to process the data from the message. You can then do the reformatting as needed on the MF.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chiqid |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 14
|
Nope... we only run MQ on the Sun box. Just was trying to avoid the ftp from the Sun box to the mainframe and instead, connect to MQ on the Sun and pull the data to the mainframe.
Thanks for the responses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Mainframe MQ does not support outbound client connections. But you don't have that anyway.
However I have always wondered what would happen if you ran a Java based MQ client program (complete with the MQ client jar files) on a mainframe JVM.
I can't see why it wouldn't work. Java = run everywhere! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It doesn't work. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|